We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Beach
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Decent rooms - fairly clean and plenty of space for a family of 4. Three pools to choose from as well as a kiddie pool. Nice beach access.

Two negatives,1- dirty dishes upon check in. Nothing like seeing lipstick on mugs. 2 - no WiFi for the week we stayed.

Lots to do while there and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocoa1over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    18
    10
    18
See reviews for
50
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in unit 325 from June 30-July 5, 2014. Our family had a great experience. The complex seems full of families, everyone was very friendly and willing to offer advice. The beach sand is amazing. My girls loved finding shells and wading in the waves. Our condo was fully stocked with everything you would need for a vacation. The only cleaning issue I saw were some dust bunnies in the corners, behind the bed and the walls/air vents needed to be cleaned. These weren't issues that made our stay less pleasurable. The parking did seem to get crowded after 10pm, and some spaces were difficult to get into. Our girls enjoyed the pools, but we really spent more time at the beach. We even watched fireworks from the beach that were being set off at the Gulf State Pier. Overall this place is great if you get an updated nice unit. I would definitely recommend Sugar Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Unit was clean. Front of building towards beach. Carts available to take up luggage. Parking tiny and could get door dinged easily. Security always greeted us upon arrival. Sugar Shack handy for snacks or beverages. 3 pools which was wonderful when they were busy! Location a little out of the way...long walk to activities. Overall I liked this place. Not fancy, but our unit was exactly what we needed. Everything worked like TVs, washer/dryer, stove, blah. No problems at all. Worth the money better than a $200 a night hotel with no appliances!!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews. Remember some people are OVER picky. If you see a common trend and everyone agrees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the oldest facilities in the area, but that is no excuse for the number of repair issues that there are. Doors and railings are rusting out, the whole facility could use a simple coat of paint, the hallways and many condos smell old and musty. I can say it isn't the worst place I have ever stayed, but I believe I can safely say that it is the worst place I have stayed on the Gulf Coast, if some of my wife's family had not already booked a non refundable unit I would have trusted the reviews and we would not have been staying at this facility.

To beat it all they oversell the parking so of you are staying at a busy time make sure to return to your condos early so you aren't being told to illegally park in fire lanes and handicap spots or parked outside the facility along the fence.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyhammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orange Beach hotels

fort smith
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just spent a week at sugar sands- rooms are very wore out- blinds missing - TVs not working or ceiling fans- beds completely wore out an sunk in an had to put books under it to keep middle up- an we weren't the only ones complaining- the pool was full of people talking about it- an the price for it was ridiculous- complained but the young girl working the office wasn't in charge to do anything!!! Won't be staying there next year - very disappointed -

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rental owner was very nice but clueless on the condition of property. The room was filthy and I told her and she apologized. This eff. not a one bed room. There is a 110 A/C window unit in room which is not big enough to cool room. Dishwasher does not work and there is no view what so ever except for debri filled lot. We were totally dissatisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location was great, but the room was extremely outdated, small, and absolutely filthy. I re-washed the towels and sheets because they weren't very clean. The tub was extremely clogged up with hair from previous guests. There was sand all over the room when we got there. The room even smelled like mold. I have no intentions of ever staying at this location ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach
Palm Beach
#11 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Property: Sugar Beach
Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing