We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar Beach
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved the staff at Sugar Beach. I actually stayed in 2 different unit. The 1st was average, but the the 2nd unit (359) was so warm and welcoming. I did not like, that there was really anything close, walking distance. This is a family place, Unfortunately, I went by myself. I will difinitely stay here again, but with company...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    18
    10
    17
See reviews for
49
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed in #347. One bedroom with a pullout for our 2 kids. It was clean with a view of the beach from the balcony. We loved it! It's small, but we weren't in it most of the time anyway, and the location is perfect. Full kitchen and easy access to the 3 charcoal grills at the complex. 4 pools at Sugar Beach, including a kids pool. And we met lots of nice people. Very cool place! The only down part was the parking garage. Lots of poles and small spaces. If you drive a big SUV, be prepared to navigate carefully!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sugar Beach Condos in Unit 320 from 6/29-7/4. Overall, a fantastic stay. The room was clean and the location was perfect if you're in to beach access. The room was perfect for our situation. Nice kitchen, good balcony and an upstairs/loft area with a queen and a full sized bed. Service at the Sugar Shack was great for both kids and adults. Mixed drinks at a good price. Tremendous value here!! Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've stayed here last two years and we love the location and price! We've rented on VRBO both times and have had great luck with a good property. This year we stayed in a two bedroom on the west side and we were very pleased.we have a decent view of the beach. For an entire week we only paid $1280 including taxes and cleaning fee.
I agree with the reviews about wifi not working but I could get a signal on the IPad but not iPhone 4.
There's a little on site place called Sugar Shack for hamburgers and hotdogs etc and even mixed drinks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vasctech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Before I give you the pros and cons, let me first tell you that I booked through price line.com. Do not book through them if you can avoid it. Try to book it through Brett Robinson realty. They own the updated condos. Sugar Sands ( the company that price line has you use) owns the rest. The condos owned by Sugar Sands are kind of a pain.

Pros: great location. Staff was super nice, and it is right on the beach. The sugar shack was great. Its next to the pools. You can order food, candy, drinks, and even alcoholic beverages. The condos are away from the heavy tourism. Price was decent since it was on the beach.

Cons: very out dated condo. I was charged a $167 cleaning fee prior to my arrival, but had to empty all of my own trash and take it to the dumpster, clean up the bathroom, wash dishes and wash sheets. This was extremely ridiculous to me. If you don't clean it up you are charged a fee on top of the $167 cleaning fee. you get one roll of toilet paper, no extra trash bags, no soap, and 3 towels. If you want a new one you are charged a fee (I think it was $35). We made a trip to target to buy everything we needed since the condo didn't come with the bare necessities.

Like I said, great location, great staff, but I'm not staying again unless I book through Brett Robinson realty next time. The cleaning fee is ridiculous to charge when the guest has to clean everything up anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julierunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Sugar Beach with a group of family & friends and had a wonderful experience. The unit we rented (through Brett Robinson) was clean and very nice. It is also in a great location. We would certainly stay at Sugar Beach again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 215JacquelineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at Sugar Beach 348 Easter weekend. It is beautiful. Had to have been remodeled during the winter as I have not seem a 1 bedroom at Sugar Beach look this good. Walls have been moved and rebuilt. Everything is new. The bathroom downstairs has been enlarged and the bathroom upstairs has been divided in two. Shower and sink on one side and toilet and another sink on the other. Beautiful granite counter tops in the kitchen.
I do not believe that anyone could find a fault with this unit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mikieHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#9 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Property: Sugar Beach
Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3003
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing