We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our experience not worthy of a four star resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perdido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Perdido Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our experience not worthy of a four star resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for a few days in April. He was there at a conference, and we decided to stay an extra couple of nights. After reading the reviews, I was pretty excited at the prospect of staying at the resort. While there were many positives, there were also many negatives. As a result, we would probably not return again.

Pros - Excellent staff. Very helpful and friendly. If there was an issue, it was handled right away.
Beach is superb and very clean. Nice that they have separate "cabanas" for guest use. Beautiful surroundings and outside is well kept. Valet parking friendly and very efficient.

Cons - I realized (after the fact) that the reviews said there were a large number of renovated rooms. Unfortunately we were not one of the lucky ones. The room, although nice and large, was really outdated. The air conditioner operated as if it was from the stone age. It rattled loudly and expelled a weird odour when first fired up. Ugh and yuck. The patio door didn't close properly. Bathroom was really dated too..although clean except for surrounding walls and sections on doors. Not worthy of a 4 star resort at all.

- There was a lot of noise by contractors working on the outside of the building. And I mean heavy drilling and pounding noise. Very early in the morning. And I mean around 6 am or earlier. When we were there, the resort seemed 1/2 empty so we wondered why we would be placed in a wing where contractors were working on outside walls. There was also a note under our door that contractors would be coming in one morning to replace air conditioning filters and inspecting alarms. This was the morning after my flight and the hours indicated in the memo were way too early. We called the front desk and asked them to come at another time.

- Housekeeping rolled their carts quite early in the am making it difficult to get some much needed rest
- The bar closes really early when the resort is not busy enough. In our world, 9pm is way too early for a bar to close. We found the same thing with the Orange Beach strip too in that many restaurants chose to close at 8pm. Huh?

Overall, the surroundings and staff made this resort..but the negatives were enough to make us think twice about ever returning. The resort seems to have missed the boat on running the place like a four star venue, and compared to other places in the US did not meet up with expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skategeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    279
    120
    45
    37
See reviews for
270
229
14
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and four days. I had the best time ever. The staff is nice and friendly. The rooms are awesome they overlook the Gulf of Mexico and I cannot say enough about beautiful the view is

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
299 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a business conference, and added some personal time. The hotel staff was great, service good. The disappointment was the quality of the food for the conference events. The food was not served hot. Even buffet items that should be hot were not. We ate in the nicest onsite restaurant, and for the price, the food was just OK. Stay here, have fun here, eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel was very clean. Security guard on property. Beautiful pool, bar at the pool. Beach right over the walkway. Couldn't get any closer to the beach than this. We booked a partial view and upon check-in, they were very accomodating to upgrade us to an ocean view. We will definitely go back. Only 2 hours away from Biloxi if you want to gamble. Great Tanger Outlet Mall close by and many chain restaurants in the area. We recommend "Cosmos" for great food.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. They were happy to upgrade us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofthreegirls404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you haven't stayed here since the Fall 2012 remodel come again & be pleasantly surprised at how lovely the rooms are decorated! I've stayed here a dozen times in the past & the remodel was needed & done well. Pool area is unchanged - still nice. Beach, as always, wonderful. With full restaurant and bar services, and the best of Orange Beach dining nearby, it was so nice to be pampered by a full service hotel. The staff helped my husband by selecting flowers and delivering to the room for a surprise, and they follow up with chocolate covered strawberries to say 'happy birthday'. Great service with a pleasant attitude! Thanks

Room Tip: East tower gets unobstructed Gulf view with no visible 'property' on the east side. 513 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicehmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was my first time to Orange Beach, and what better place to start but at Perdido Beach Resort. I was with my husband and two sons. The room was very clean. The only thing I wish was that it had a microwave, but the fridge was a help. Everyone was very accomodating the entire stay. Great food in the restaurants and something for everyone- game room, ice cream, pizza, pool side cafe, bar, etc. Beach is beautiful. Close to anything you want to do, but closest to the Florida line and the Flora Bama. I hope to return there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited during spring break. It was a great property and very reasonably priced. Rooms had been renovated recently and the staff was attentive and quick. Great pool, great beach access. We'd do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptnKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Orange Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#9 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perdido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perdido Beach Resort

Property: Perdido Beach Resort
Address: 27200 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Orange Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Orange Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perdido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service Mediterranean-style resort hotel located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Alabama Gulf Coast. Perdido Beach Resort is perfect for a weekend-getaway, a relaxing vacation or a business meeting accompanied by beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Perdido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perdido Beach Hotel Orange Beach
Orange Beach Perdido Beach
Perdido Beach Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing