We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Orange Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a wonderful B&B! Deborah and Greg gave us just the right balance of privacy and lively conversation. Room was comfortable and the furnishings and atmosphere fantastic. Grounds were beautiful. The breakfast was superb. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: There was no fitness center. The south rooms are the best for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I Found This B&B On The Internet And Booked It As A Valentine Surprise For My Husband.....Well, We Loved It So Much That We Have Stayed With Them 3 Times Already This Year.....The Rooms Are Very Nice & Clean !!!! Beautiful Pool & Relaxing Hot Tub..... The Breakfast Is To Die For & Wine And Cheese Is Always Fun Meeting The Other Guest.....Thanks Greg For Letting Us Taste Your Chocolate Cheese It Was Yummy !!!! And Last But Certainly Not The Least Greg & Deborah That Run The Inn Are Good Down Home People.....We { Steven & Lisa } Can't Wait To Go Stay There Again Real Soon :-)

Room Tip: We Have Stayed In 3 Of The Rooms So Far....The Red Snapper Room....The Song Writer's Room.....&a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaMcDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Original Romar House every time we come to Orange Beach/Gulf Shores. Wonderful beach house decor. We always meet interesting people. Great common areas. Comfortable beds. Breakfasts are excellent. Deborah and Greg are extremely hospitable. They got up early to cook us breakfast since my husband had to be at a meeting. The covered deck is a great place to enjoy the early AM or the sunset. Inviting pool area. I saw dauphins jumping right out of the water, pellicans, gulls, terns, and a host of dragon flies during this morning's beach walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to make sure that all our guests have an opportunity to start their day with a healthy and delicious breakfast. That's very important to us. We appreciate that you choose to come and stay with us on your every visit to the coast. We can't wait until the next time. Greg & Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent our 41st anniversary at this wonderfully peaceful bed and breakfast. Greg and Deborah are perfect hosts. What a great first time at Orange Beach. The amenities are superb in this wonderful old beach home. Comfortable beds, scrumptious hot breakfasts, wine and cheese each afternoon, inviting swimming pool, hot tub, and great boardwalk leading to practically a private white sandy beach. There are only about 7 rooms, so there are no crowds to fight for deck chairs or a spot by the pool. We spent hours on the beach or in the pool just relaxing. Perfect. Our hosts were helpful with tips for great seafood dinners (Doc's has great raw oysters and fried shrimp) and Greg was so thoughtful to give us some lovely seashells for our granddaughter. We shall definitely return to Orange Beach, and we will book early so that we can have a full week at the Original Romar House B&B. Thank you, Greg and Deborah!

Room Tip: We loved our Mardi Gras room! Corner room with lovely stained glass windows. Quiet. Sparkling clean...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SharonSourLake_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Yeah...a full week!! Awesome! We are so happy your little grand enjoyed the seashells. Greg is Mr. Shellman :) Thank you so much for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon! Oh my goodness we LOVE the photo of your red beach chairs. It's wonderful! Greg n Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved, loved, loved it! This place is relaxing, comfortable and quiet. Pool was gorgeous, hot tub was fabulous and we pretty much had the stretch of beach to ourselves!!!! Breakfast was amazing. Also enjoyed wine and cheese in the early evening which was a good time to discuss potential restaurants for dinner. And, we were able to meet other guests and share experiences.

Deborah and Greg were awesome hosts, cooks, bartenders - you name it - they did it all!

Wonderful place - hope to return again next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well-appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so very much for the nice words. Its means so much to hear them. We Love, loved having you here and hope you make it back again next year!!! ~Greg n Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the perfect spot for a couple looking to experience the beauty of Alabama's gulf shore but not hassle with the crowds of this popular location. As with most B&Bs, this is an adult only location. The beach is very private due to ownership of the land down to a certain part of the tide. I loved the secluded quiet of the beach. The innkeepers are warm and fun to be around. They also cook a delicious breakfast. The pool is refreshing and relaxing and the deck upstairs is a great place to relax and enjoy the view of the shore. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We sure hope ya'll get to return someday too! We do love our beach area. It is nice being located next to a residential area to a degree as we don't have alot of traffic on our beach section. We so appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience here with us. Greg N Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I wanted to go to the beach, my husband wanted to take me. I wanted a "home" setting, with comfort and easy access to the beach, he needed relaxation and no stress or drama. This fit the bill completely. Waking early for coffee on the deck, watching the water (and dolphins!). Breakfast was amazing each day, banana/pecan pancakes to a nice "tweaked" version of eggs benedict or simply wonderful biscuits and chocolate gravy! The beach was just a short walk and although there are condo's to your far right and left, we were alone in our own stretch of "private" area. We spent a little time on the beach, but lots of time in the water, just floating.
Deborah and Greg are great hosts, we felt so at home. Never intrusive, you didn't know they were there, until you needed them. Our room was perfect, and comfortable, loved the décor! We could roam the house, seeing others if we choose or not. My biggest happy, was going from beach, to deck, to outside, to room, to roam........without any elevator, or hundreds of people, there were no TV's blaring, nor music. Quiet relaxation. Simple things. Home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Snapper room, it was simply and all we needed. I don't think there is a ba...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonicaLynn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind response. It means so much to both of us. One thing you spoke of is something we strive for....everyone having their own personal space, so to speak. We want our guests to feel at home every time they walk in the door. We miss you two already and hope that you are able to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#17 of 19 in Orange Beach
113 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 23500 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Beach
Price Range: $251 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Original Romar House is a favorite for travelers seeking a beautiful, romantic destination. The Inn features a delicious Southern Breakfast, complimentary wine & cheese, and luxuriously appointed rooms. You can enjoy an early morning cup of coffee on the spacious back deck looking at the Gulf, or join other guests in the parlor for friendly conversation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Original Romar House Hotel Orange Beach
Original Romar House Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing