We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a quiet getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Orange Beach B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a quiet getaway!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

While looking for a b&b on the beach I came upon ORH. After reading all the reviews I decided to give it a try. We spent 3 nights celebrating my husband's birthday, our anniversary and Father's Day. Greg and Deborah were waiting for us at the front door with smiles, wine and cheese...just what we needed after getting caught in "beach traffic"! The house was exactly as described, quaint and quiet. Yes, there is a very LARGE condo building next door but with the welcoming seating areas inside and the private deck and pool area outside it's so easy to forget about it. One negative comment I read was the distance from the beach.....well, maybe that's why ORH is still standing! There is a very well maintained boardwalk leading straight to a PRIVATE beach which is well worth the (app) 200 yd walk to get there. This is truly a relaxing setting away from the kids (mine and yours) and well worth the price. Breakfasts each morning were mouthwatering and the wine and cheese hour was a great chance to visit with other travelers. We stayed in the Frank Brown songwriters room. Of all the rooms downstairs, if you want a view, book this one. Not as good as the view from the suite but a nice view none the less. From all we saw, the property was very clean and extremely well maintained. Thanks to the Collards for the hospitality and conversation, a good time was had by all!! We hope to return and bring friends :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MischelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are so very happy that you two chose to spend those three special times in your life with us here at the Original Romar House B & B and hope that you come back soon!! We loved having you here ~Deb & Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Memorial Day weekend. It is wonderful. Deb and Greg are very pleasant and hospitable. Deb makes a lovely breakfast as well. The proprietor mr Jerry came by for breakfast on Sunday morning and was also very pleasant and hospitable. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words. We so enjoyed your visit with us! We can't wait until you can come back to the ORH for another stay! ~Greg & Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I booked a room at the Romar for a birthday weekend that completed my gal’s quest to visit all 50 states. Even though it was off season and a bit chilly it was a great change of pace from Wyoming winter.

This B&B is a throw back to an earlier era before developers built high rises to maximize their profits. The Romar house is sandwiched between a high rise (under construction) and someone’s private beach palace. Despite its location just off the highway it succeeds as a beach hideaway with private access via boardwalk to the beach along with a covered deck, patio and private pool.

Deborah and Greg are great hosts who claim to have never met a stranger. The inn was renovating the bar area during our stay, but if anything it made for a better visit. We even got to participate in the bar’s "reopening" with the Jerry the very colorful owner in attendance. Deborah is a great cook and served up mind blowing breakfasts and was most helpful at recommending places for lunch and dinners.

We stayed in the Romar Suite that featured privacy, and loads of room with separate seating areas featuring sofas and a day bed and great views of the ocean, pool, patio.

The Original Romar House is a bit of old Southern hospitality in a great package and we highly recommend it as a way to decompress and relax if you are going to be on the Alabama shore! We’ll be back when next in the area!

Room Tip: Book the suite if it's in your budget or any room with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We want to say a great big "thank you" for the nice things you've shared about The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn and us. We still talk about the night we all laughed and saluted the Purple Parrot stained glass window of our own King George the Parrot. The addition is complete and so very nice! Great times! We hope you come back and stay with us again :) ~The Management (Greg & Deborah)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was completing a visit to all 50 states and Alabama was my 50th. I wanted to be on the beach and the Romar House is exactly that - a boardwalk right onto the white sands!! The hosts were fantastic and my room was very cozy (that means small) but it was just perfect for a solo visitor. I truly enjoyed my time and the other guests. Happy hour was amazing and the host gave me a dinner suggestion that was exactly what I was looking for - fresh fish and shrimp blackened to perfection.

Room Tip: My room would have been too small for a couple but they have several other rooms that are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, Manager at The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We want to thank you so very much for allowing The Original Romar House Bed and Breakfast Inn to be your first stay in our lovely State of Alabama. We know you enjoyed our "Captain's Quarters", set aside for singles only and were such a joy to have in house! We could listen to your journey's all day long and never tire! Thank you for your comments and we hope you return again :) ~The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Sandwiched between a large hotel and another even larger one, the Original Romar House has a quiet charm. Being the oldest building (as far as I understand it) in Orange Beach, we enjoyed its rich history and colorful quaintness.

We went to this B&B in early March, and although it was off season, we had a wonderful time. Deborah and Greg are great hosts! As Deborah put it: they've never met a stranger. The inn was undergoing construction at the time of our stay, but our enjoyment wasn't curbed at all. In fact, we are looking forward to returning to the Original Romar House sometime during a warmer season when all the renovations are finished!

The food was great, and the inn's private access to the most gorgeous beach is a huge plus. We definitely want to return. If you'd like to see pictures of our stay, check out my blog post: http://waysofvesture.com/2013/03/05/a-winter-beach-tripping-we-go/

Room Tip: The Songwriter's room does have a beach-facing window; however, it is behind pool, so it's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Greg and Deborah Collard made us feel at home! I attended the Frank Brown International Songwriter Festival in Orange Beach, and was honored to get to stay in the Frank Brown Songwriter Festival suite! What an incredible place! The breakfasts were amazing, the beach walks were incredible...just minutes from many other great sites! The Original Romar House has a great history and reputation, and I'm very excited to recommend it to YOU!!!! A great get-away!!!

Room Tip: They are all good! They have a spa, swimming pool, honor bar, hammock, all sorts of amenities that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semmes, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

the Original Romar House bed & breakfast is absolutely wonderful!
cozy & homey, filled with antiques & history.
the rooms are beautiful & comfortable & nicely decorated.
the breakfasts were to die for!!! a great variety & plenty of it. you'll eat so well you won't want a lunch.
a private boardwalk leads to the beach that is beautiful & quiet. usually you have it all to yourself.
Greg & Deborah, your host & hostess, are wonderful! friendly & helpful, you feel like you've been friends forever. they will give you tips on great places to visit & eat that they, themselves have been to.
our weekend at Orange Beach could not have been better & it's all due to this great couple & great place. we were sad to leave but have no doubts we'll be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in the songwriter's room. a view of the beach & beautiful stained glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 19 in Orange Beach
113 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 19 in Orange Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 23500 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Original Romar House is a favorite for travelers seeking a beautiful, romantic destination. The Inn features a delicious Southern Breakfast, complimentary wine & cheese, and luxuriously appointed rooms. You can enjoy an early morning cup of coffee on the spacious back deck looking at the Gulf, or join other guests in the parlor for friendly conversation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Original Romar House Hotel Orange Beach
Original Romar House Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing