We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“this is the place you want to be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Orange Beach B&B and Inns
Semmes, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this is the place you want to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

the Original Romar House bed & breakfast is absolutely wonderful!
cozy & homey, filled with antiques & history.
the rooms are beautiful & comfortable & nicely decorated.
the breakfasts were to die for!!! a great variety & plenty of it. you'll eat so well you won't want a lunch.
a private boardwalk leads to the beach that is beautiful & quiet. usually you have it all to yourself.
Greg & Deborah, your host & hostess, are wonderful! friendly & helpful, you feel like you've been friends forever. they will give you tips on great places to visit & eat that they, themselves have been to.
our weekend at Orange Beach could not have been better & it's all due to this great couple & great place. we were sad to leave but have no doubts we'll be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in the songwriter's room. a view of the beach & beautiful stained glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The innkeepers were very accommodating and I have nothing but admiration for 2 obviously very hardworking and nice people. The Collards have been managing the property since April and Mr. Collard was observed working his tail off at every turn cleaning and making repairs. They were very gracious hosts and the facility was clean. My disappointment was not with them, but with the description of the room, which was most likely drafted by the property owner. I rented the "cottage" for our anniversary weekend because I wanted privacy. Upon our arrival, we were informed that the "cottage" was actually located on the 2nd floor above the innkeepers' residence. We were also very disappointed to observe that the "cottage" was the small building located immediately next to the highway. Even with the shades completely closed the automobile lights came through the side gaps of the shades, hit the mirrors in the room and danced around the walls. The noise from the highway was also very distracting. I felt somewhat inhibited regarding private matters (anniversary weekend away from the kids) since people were living downstairs--a matter that I thought I had under control by renting a "cottage." The room (small bedroom & bath, kitchen & tv room) was ok, but it was the LOCATION (2nd floor next to the highway) that ruined it as a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you are looking for polished aluminum railings, plastic floors, and elevators to a condo on the twentieth floor.....don't look here. If you are looking for a place steeped in ambience and charm, hosted by an extraordinary couple, with a private boardwalk to the beach, and with some of the best breakfasts anywhere, with a covered deck, patio and private pool-----you found your place. The Original Romar House is steeped in history, and in it's rambling way, it appeals like your favorite getaway....but it is on the beach! We wanted lots of private space to stretch out in and stayed in the suite. The room is large has a great view of the pool, patio, and beach. There is a sofa, and a day bed in the room, in addition to the queen size bed.

You do need to be aware that a large condo is under construction next door. It is getting close to the last stages of construction, and will be finished in the near future.

Room Tip: The suite is the only guest room upstairs on the main floor. There is lots of room to stretch out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PineBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are headed to the beach the best and most relaxing place to stay is the Original Romar House B & B. The Host and Hostess are one of a kind, treat you like family! The breakfast is to die for and there is never a dull moment. You have the beautiful beach right in your face and the rooms are marvelous. We have been here twice, once in June and back in September. This will be the only place we will stay from here on out. It has an "old timey" charm that can't be found anywhere else. Love it, love it, love it!

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fourwayent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were traveling the area with no particular place to stay and found the Original Romar House on Trip Advisor. Loved it! Quiet place, no crowd and no kids. Deborah and Greg made us feel right at home. Enjoyed meeting and talking with Jerry the owner. Breakfast was always good and the pancakes were out of sight. We wanted relaxation and this is exactly what we got. Couldn't have asked for more. We will return.

Room Tip: The Mardi Gras room was perfect. Ask about the frog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostintheCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just spent the last few days at the wonderful Original Romar House. This house built in 1924 has many stories to tell. From the moment we arrived we felt at home with Greg and Deborah. They took care of our every need while providing us with a vacation we will never forget. Romar House is a beautiful B&B located on the beach in Orange Beach, AL. You will feel at home enjoying the pool, beach, hot tub and a fully stocked bar. If you get the chance ask Deborah to tell you her story. She has a very interesting background that she would love to share. Breakfast was always excellent and more than you can eat. The rooms are very nicely decorated and beds are very comfortable. We highly recommend you check out Romar House. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This B&B is such a wonderful spot. It is right on the beach in an area where very few people were- occasionally someone walking by but that was it! There is a pool, Jacuzzi, the most comfortable hammock ever, great reading and relaxing spots both in and outside, and a little onsite bar. You simply cannot find a better place. Plus, the comforter on the bed may have been the most cozy thing ever. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DagnyBrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#9 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 23500 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3007
Location: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Original Romar House is a favorite for travelers seeking a beautiful, romantic destination. The Inn features a delicious Southern Breakfast, complimentary wine & cheese, and luxuriously appointed rooms. You can enjoy an early morning cup of coffee on the spacious back deck looking at the Gulf, or join other guests in the parlor for friendly conversation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Original Romar House Hotel Orange Beach
Original Romar House Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing