We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
244
50
26
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
50
26
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweet tea bunk room floor to ceiling windows eating breakfast boutique hotel lobby and breakfast area fire pit beach front rooms are beautiful hot tub overlooking the beach fourth floor outdoor bar parking garage complimentary breakfast is breakfast was excellent two queens
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was top notch, and I have stayed at quite a few. The staff were amazing from the moment I checked in. Jenny was friendly and helpful. Donovan ( i believe that was the manager on duty) was courteous. The room was spectacular. We had to call because the fridge wasn't getting cold, but Adam came right up and fixed the problem. Angelo in the maintenance department was always polite (we seemed to always board the elevator when he was on it). The housekeepers did an amazing job of cleaning. The free breakfast was tasty. The pool side bar had a live band both days we stayed, which was a nice treat. The view from our room was spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much, Jenni, for your five-star review! We are so pleased that you loved your room and our delicious breakfast. It is wonderful to hear you found our staff so friendly and accommodating - we will gladly pass along your kind words to Jenny, Donovan, Adam, and Angelo. Our apologies about your fridge but we're glad it was taken care of quickly. We're thrilled that we helped make your trip a pleasant one and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the hotel! Nice staff, clean and modern. The bed was super comfortable. The free breakfast was also great everyday of our stay! Convenient location but also a peaceful one. This felt more private than any other place we’ve stayed in the area. I’ll definitely be back and stay at the tides hotel!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Joey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Joey, for your five-star review! We are so glad you loved our clean and modern property, your comfy bed, complimentary breakfast, and convenient location. It is wonderful to hear you found our staff friendly and accommodating. We are so pleased that you had a nice stay and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had reservations elsewhere, but my husband saw an ad about how nice The Tides Hotel was, and he decided to change our location. Big, big mistake! First of all, I hate wasting time writing reviews, and I usually keep them sweet and short, but this one will not be sweet nor short. I also waited 2 days to write it, because I did not want to write it when I was angry. Nothing good comes when you are angry.
Here it goes... We were 5 minutes from the hotel when we received a call from the front desk that they had overbooked, and they were going to upgrade our room They needed it for another family. They would give us a larger room, still with a beach view, for the same price. We were great, thanks! We arrived, and were thrilled to see such a nice hotel, specially since we were paying $350. a night. The room was very nice, and so was the view. We were thrilled. The next day we got up, had a very nice continental breakfast at the hotel, and went down to the beach where we rented chairs for $30. a day. While eating lunch my husband noticed the hotel had called him twice, so he called to see if there was a problem. The receptionist informed him there was a problem. They had overbooked, AGAIN, and they needed our room. They wanted us to move to another room. My husband told them we really did not want to move, specially since we were checking out in the morning, and we had already settled in and unpacked our suitcases. Well they insisted, so my husband said if you guys compensate us for our inconvenience we will help you out, and the receptionist said that should not be a problem. She put my husband on hold, and did not return, so we left our chairs, and went to the front desk to figure out what we needed to do. Ck in time was approaching, and we did want to help them out specially since they were going to compensate us for our inconvenience. Here's where it gets crazy!!! When we got to the lobby, and told the receptionist who we were she immediately called the manager to the front desk. As soon as I saw his demeanor I knew things were not going to be pleasant. His tone was arrogant and short. He had no intention on doing anything to compensate us. Instead, he gave us 2 options, switch rooms or leave. I am not even kidding. He was serious. We did not realize at the time they had already deactivated our keys, and we were not going to be able to get to our stuff unless we got out of the room. Once I figured that out I told him he was not authorized to touch our stuff, and if he tried I would call the police. He quickly told us he had them on speed dial, and he would call them for us, so we said please do. He did call them, but instead of handing us the phone he stepped further back behind the front desk where we could not reach it, and he proceeded to tell the dispatcher he had disruptive people in his lobby, and he needed them to come to the hotel. We were shocked! I told him he was a conniving hypocrite. He was intentionally trying to make us look like trouble makers. We were trying to work something out. We are in our mid 50's, and the last thing we are is disruptive, which the police officers realized quickly when they arrived. I was so grateful they did come quickly, because this manager's goal was to get a rise out of my husband, and escalate the situation. He was out to win. The police tried to see how he could help out, but the manager would not budge. It was move or get out. Since we are not trouble makers, and we were so upset we chose to leave, even if it meant a 6 hour drive back home. They gave us a new key, so we could get our stuff. As soon as we packed up I had one of the police officers inspect our room to verify there was no damage. I definitely did not trust the manager on duty. He truly needs to learn how to treat guest when they are in his home. The worst part of the story is that his young staff, who is all very polite, was standing by learning from their boss on how to treat their guest. It's horrible to not feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 04greensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanaD23, General Manager at Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mrs. Wheeler,
Thank you so much for the review regarding your recent stay and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you incurred. As the GM, I also understand the power of a review and take pride in the multitude of top notch reviews The Tides receives on a daily basis. It is unfortunate that when an incident occurs there are hurdles to overcome in trying to ensure that the staff handles the occurrence in a professional and proficient manner as well as working diligently to ensure that the patron of the hotel is satisfied. It appears that we failed to reach this conclusion with your situation and unfortunately in some cases a resolution is just not feasible to ascertain. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and we look forward to you returning to try and improve upon your initial visit as well as allowing us another opportunity to exemplify our stellar service.

Jeana Dillon GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I love staying here during the fall and winter months when the beach is quiet. The hotel is immaculately clean and the service has always been wonderful. Heated pool is a plus for the colder months. Great place to stay!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Brandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much, Brandy, for your five-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved our quiet, beautiful beach, the heated pool, and our clean facility. It is wonderful to hear you found our staff so accommodating. We are thrilled that you had a nice stay and we can't wait to welcome you back to feel the sand under your toes again in the future! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We had a great experience. All parking is covered. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and roomy. The beach view was great. The breakfast was delicious! We would stay again.A note: The reasons for not rating out experience as a 5-star one are these: We did think the hotel overcharged us. Yes, it is on the beach, and yes, we did stay over Labor Day weekend. We still thought the price was VERY high. (We would not have made the reservations except there were some extenuating family circumstances that overrode the high price disadvantage.) Also, the hotel charged us for incidentals upon check in. That charge was later refunded, but we did not appreciate that.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DrCarraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you, DrCarraway, for your nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved your clean and comfy room with the beachfront view, covered parking, and complimentary tasty breakfast. Our apologies regarding the rate and the incidentals charge, but we are glad to hear our accommodating staff resolved that issue. Should you have any further concerns about the rate you were charged, please feel free to call us. We want to make sure our valued guests are truly satisfied with their experience at our facility. We are glad that we helped make your stay a pleasant one regardless though, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews