We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Opelika
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tripad S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

You are gonna see this place and think it's sketchy. But surprisingly, it is not. It's older, yes, and a bit shabby, but well-kept. The staff is always friendly and willing to honor reasonable requests.

When Granny and Pappy Musclechest tire of the pullout couch and near-constant dog raids on their luggage at the homestead, they frequently find themselves here, and they dig it just fine. Yes, I am a cheapskate at heart, but they CHOOSE to stay here. It is proximal to major roads such as I-85, 431, and US 280. It's about a 35 minute shot to Uptown Columbus.

Lots of dining and antiquing options within easy strolling distance, although Pappy M. sez crossing the bigger roads is "unsafe!". The most high-end of the 5 Waffle Houses in our little slice of Heaven shares a parking lot with this little gem of an inn.

It's a less-than-a-mile haul to swingin' Downtown Opelika, with its many finer dining options, quaint shops, and sparkling giant octopus-free town fountain. Come see us!

Room Tip: Further away from 431 is better (quieter). Try the back corner adjacent to Cracker Barrel, where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The beds are horrible, the mattresses are worn out and lumpy, when I sit on a 8" mattress it shouldn't become a 1" mattress with a hill in the middle. The box springs were obviously set upside down to try and hide their condition so I felt the boards through the mattress. The juice machine was broken and the only "pastry" was glazed donuts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at this highway motel in September 2013 on an AU football weekend. It was probably the worst place I have ever stayed in. Although the front desk staff was nice, the towels were stained, the sheets dirty (and they had no extras to give us), the comforters were stained and there was mold everywhere (bedroom AND bathroom). There were dead bugs on the stained carpet and the AC leaked and soaked the carpet. If it was remodeled, the location and the staff would make it full every night.

Room Tip: check the room before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Come on, for $40 it was just fine. The room was small, but well-furnished, with refrigerator and microwave. The folks at the desk were pleasant and helpful. There was a good deal of road noise, but we sleep with white noise anyway, so that was just more of it. My only complaint is that the room had a rather pungent odor -- not scary, just unpleasant -- that took a while to get used to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Opelika
Quality Inn Opelika
#8 of 17 in Opelika
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 17 in Opelika
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Plus & Suites Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Opelika

Address: 1002 Columbus Pkwy, I-85 & Us 280, Opelika, AL 36801-5942 (Formerly Travelodge Opelika)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Price Range: $45 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Opelika 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing