We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean freak” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Opelika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnuson Hotel Opelika
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    21
    8
    21
See reviews for
27
14
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

You are gonna see this place and think it's sketchy. But surprisingly, it is not. It's older, yes, and a bit shabby, but well-kept. The staff is always friendly and willing to honor reasonable requests.

When Granny and Pappy Musclechest tire of the pullout couch and near-constant dog raids on their luggage at the homestead, they frequently find themselves here, and they dig it just fine. Yes, I am a cheapskate at heart, but they CHOOSE to stay here. It is proximal to major roads such as I-85, 431, and US 280. It's about a 35 minute shot to Uptown Columbus.

Lots of dining and antiquing options within easy strolling distance, although Pappy M. sez crossing the bigger roads is "unsafe!". The most high-end of the 5 Waffle Houses in our little slice of Heaven shares a parking lot with this little gem of an inn.

It's a less-than-a-mile haul to swingin' Downtown Opelika, with its many finer dining options, quaint shops, and sparkling giant octopus-free town fountain. Come see us!

Room Tip: Further away from 431 is better (quieter). Try the back corner adjacent to Cracker Barrel, where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The beds are horrible, the mattresses are worn out and lumpy, when I sit on a 8" mattress it shouldn't become a 1" mattress with a hill in the middle. The box springs were obviously set upside down to try and hide their condition so I felt the boards through the mattress. The juice machine was broken and the only "pastry" was glazed donuts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at this highway motel in September 2013 on an AU football weekend. It was probably the worst place I have ever stayed in. Although the front desk staff was nice, the towels were stained, the sheets dirty (and they had no extras to give us), the comforters were stained and there was mold everywhere (bedroom AND bathroom). There were dead bugs on the stained carpet and the AC leaked and soaked the carpet. If it was remodeled, the location and the staff would make it full every night.

Room Tip: check the room before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
281 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Come on, for $40 it was just fine. The room was small, but well-furnished, with refrigerator and microwave. The folks at the desk were pleasant and helpful. There was a good deal of road noise, but we sleep with white noise anyway, so that was just more of it. My only complaint is that the room had a rather pungent odor -- not scary, just unpleasant -- that took a while to get used to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opelika hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Opelika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Opelika
Quality Inn Opelika
#7 of 16 in Opelika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Opelika
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Opelika

Property: Magnuson Hotel Opelika
Address: 1002 Columbus Pkwy, I-85 & US 280, Opelika, AL 36801 (Formerly Travelodge Opelika)
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Opelika 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing