We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two outstanding Robert Trent Jones courses”

Grand National Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Opelika, Ala.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two outstanding Robert Trent Jones courses”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Two of the best on the trail. Great layouts, great conditions, like all RTR courses. Excellent Par Three course and Driving Range. The terrain is rolling and beautiful . Lot's of water !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keithowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, AL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm not a golfer but I have traveled most of the courses in a golf cart and have helped here during special events. Beautiful course. Difficult course. A lot of golf for a little money. I have talked to a lot of people who played here and they all agree it's "one of the best".

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cicada3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful course surrounded by woodlands and lakes”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This course if a part of the Alabama Golf Trail. There is a Marriott Hotel adjoining the course.

A neighbor moved here from Illinois to be able to play golf year 'round. This course is one of at least five (5) golf courses in or around the Auburn area. All surrounded by woodlands.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Golf with Friends”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Both courses at Grand National are excellent. Links course will test your stamina and your patience. Lakes course to me has more "eye appeal" and is equally challenging. Condition of both courses is just "awesome". Service is a real "hot button" for me and Grand National Staff came through. From Jim Bishop the head professional and all his staff in the pro shop to the ladies in the grill, service was wonderful. Food in the grill was very good and served quickly and "to go" if needed. Starters, marshals and bag attendants were courteous, friendly and efficient. There are an excellent driving range, putting greens with matching grass for each course. The pro shop is fully stocked with everything you need or want. I was there with 9 other golfers and we had a wonderful time. This is a wonderful place for groups to visit. These folks have the experience to really take care of you. We spent four days there and would certainly return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great track”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Played both Lake and Links and enjoyed them both. Also spent an afternoon on the short course and it can be a great test from the Orange tees or farther back. Too many 100-125 shots from the white tees. Courses were in super shape and the greens were lightning quick on the Lakes course.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand National Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Grand National Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing