We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I had a room block of over 75 rooms for my wedding and a rehearsal dinner at this property! The sales and events team made the planning so simple. They were great to keep us up to date on our pick up and so quick to respond to any questions. The food was such a delight and the banquet staff so professional! The poolside food and beverage team put up with us all weekend and made our experience so much fun! The housekeeping staff not only keeps the rooms spotless but called just to check to see if we needed anything additional!!! I and my guests felt like royalty at this property! It's incredible!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We loved hosting your wedding guests. Your group was a lot of fun and we were so glad that you let us be a part of your special day. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    78
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
85
62
9
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have stayed at this location for 2 game weekends this year and both times my experience was the same. Very nice staff, lovely area, nice amenities. Hotel does need updating. A new coat of paint, caulking and new carpeting would put this at the top of Marriott locations. The location is far out if your main attraction is Auburn University so plan for that. The golf is great! The view of the pool area and golf course is wonderful! Very quiet rooms and setting. Both times I had the best sleep ever! In Sept we had the suite style rooms. Not sure it was worth the extra unless you have kids who might need more space. My mothers room did not have a refrigerator but ours did. Oct. I had a regular room and that was just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed staying here for game weekends. What a great football season it has been! We are always making improvements and working on maintenance issues. We'll continue to try and improve. Like you, many of our guests comment about the peaceful night's sleep they get here. Being away from the highway and loud traffic does have it's advantages!!! By the way, since your last visit we have added refrigerators to every room. Many guests had requested them and now we have them! Come viist us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. Amenities are great, staff is wonderful, food is delicious. Recent upgrades to the outdoor facilities make this a great destination for families, businessmen, and sports enthusiasts (especially golfers). Part of the Robert Trent Jones Trail in Alabama

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank williamg110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit Those recent upgrades that you mentioned like our new feature pool and tennis center have been a big hit with our guests. Of course, there is also some of the world's greatest golf right outside our door with the 54 holes offered at Grand National. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a disappointment! The room was dated and overpriced, not to mention stuffy. The front desk lady was anything but helpful. The "breakfast" was merely cold cereal. I will say that the pool was gorgeous and the grounds well-kept. Next time, I'll stay at the Holiday Inn Express which has better rates, newer rooms, and a real breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayC30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your visit here occured during one of our home footbal weekends and rates are a bit higher during those weekends. However, our football season rates are very competitive and often times even lower than many of the other hotels in our area .
We did offer a free continental breakfast in our lobby on this weekend which is not something that we always do. I am assuming that is what you meant by the "breakfast". We do have a complete breakfast available in our restaurant each morning though. This breakfast features delicious, hot breakfast favorites and made to order omelettes by our fabulous omelette chef. Please give it a try on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott at Grand National in Opelika, AL when we came to play golf on the RTJ Golf Trail at Grand National. Rooms were very clean nicely appointed and spacious. For the most part service and staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. Dinning room food and service was excellent. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous. There seemed to be some confusion among the hotel staff as to when the Fairways Lounge was open. We were there Thurs-Sun and it was only open on Saturday. On Saturday when it was open the lady working in the lounge was excellent. The waitstaff for the outside covered area seemed at times to be non-existent and/or poorly trained. The general overall service and care by staff was very good and the hotel itself was very nice. The hotel is only a two minute drive from the golf course and they also provide a shuttle. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would visit us again. During the time of year of your visit, Fairways Lounge is only opened occasionaly. So many guests prefer our outdoor pool bar (Splash) that we keep it open to serve our guests. Now that we are in the winter season, Fairways is open daily and Splash is closed. In addition, we also have Lakeview Restaurant with great steaks, chicken, and seafood specialties. We have added some new staff members and performed additional staff training since your visit. I look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at this property recently and I'd have to say they have put a nice touch to this hotel. The pool area has been expanded and they have added a water slide and some other things for the kids. This was a pretty quiet weekend and found the pool area, even with kids to be pretty relaxing. They do have an adults-only pool, but being only steps away from the other pool it doesn't make much difference in the atmosphrere. The food in the restaurants was very good, not great, but the poolside bar was a nice area to relax and unwind and dine on bar food type choices..

Room Tip: Request a pool view room and I'd suggest that you request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Marriott. Guests are really loving that pool. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great staff, great facilities, lots to do. We just had a one night getaway with our 4 kids, and it was perfect. The pools are great, the pickleball courts were fun, staff is friendly without pestering. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. Our pool is great for summertime fun, but don't forget that we have lots to do in the winter as well. The tennis center is open, great golf, and miles of hiking trails also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
6.6 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
3.5 mi away
Best Western Auburn/Opelika Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National

Property: Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Address: 3700 Robert Trent Jones Trl, Opelika, AL 36801-1118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Opelika
#3 Romantic Hotel in Opelika
#4 Family Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National is on par with the nation's most distinctive facilities and accommodations. Nestled on 2,000 acres of lakefront countryside, our Auburn hotel's exceptional golf and business retreat is located in the quaint, historic town of Opelika. Our property is situated on the shores of Lake Saugahatchee, offering a peaceful and serene atmosphere and featuring access to 54 holes of championship golf. Escape from ordinary hotels in Auburn, AL and indulge in our spacious guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access and stunning views from your own private balcony. Guests love our swimming pools, fitness center, and on-site dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Auburn Opelika At Grand National Hotel Opelika
Marriott Opelika
Opelika Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing