We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under Renovation but still a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Under Renovation but still a great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was passing through on my way to a family get together and stayed. I found the hotel very clean and the front desk staff very friendly and courteous. The property was very well maintained and under renovation. The room was very clean and well maintained, with a huge 40 flat screen TV. They had a new and improved breakfast bar and had no problems with check in and check out. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. It has a lot of bang for the buck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback from our guests and use the details from your experiences to implement changes as necessary to fit the continuous needs of our customers.

My staff and I are dedicated to delivering exceptional customer service and are pleased that you took notice of the changes that we are already making to our property. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    87
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
115
74
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this room 10 months in advance. And then found out later it was going for double that. So for our total cost of $170 for 2 nights it was perfect. Had a fridge in the room for storing beer. Easy access to restuarnts and really not far from campus. Only complaints is the beds are truly double beds so kind of tight for 2 people but doable. Would stay again. Oh breakfast was you expect for contiental but still for the price can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to provide you with a great deal, especially during our busy football season. I do apologize for the 'tight fit' of the beds, however they are XL full sized beds, which allows a little more mobility around the other in room furnishings without feeling cluttered. We are happy that you were pleased with your overall stay with us and hope that you will consider us when visiting the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were traveling to Savannah, GA & Opelika, AL was just a stop over. All we needed was a clean & safe place to spend the night before moving on. This was not a big vacation, just a 4 day sister get-a-way & we were trying to stay on a tight budget. We picked up a hotel coupon book at the Alabama welcome center, which is how we found The Best Western Opelika/Auburn Inn. We had to travel just under 2 miles off the interstate & it was worth it. The girl at the front desk was friendly & really tried to accommodate our needs & considering we were requesting a unbelievable cheap rate she could have had a very different attitude, the room was clean, the beds were comfy, the area around the hotel was well landscaped & maintained & the breakfast that was included was filling. The morning clerk (my only negative remark in this review is that he was a little under groomed), he was also helpful, gave us directions to see the historic part of town on our way back to the interstate. I wish we had more time to spend in charming Opelika, AL.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value your input and will use your comments improve upon our processes for future guests. Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Requested group reservation online for 11 rooms 2 months ago. Owner called me & verified. All was well until a few days ago, he cancelled my rsrv b/c I didn't give him my credit card. (He DIDN'T ASK for it) I called his cell & asked what happened. He had tried to call me, but had my email & phone# incorrect. He told me it was my responsibility to give him my credit card, not his. He also said I didn't call & check on the rsrv & that most people do (funny.... I thought I was good to go when I made a rsrv) So, my sons entire ball team doesn't have a place to stay now b/c of an incompetent owner. This was our 3rd yr staying here!!! Never again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here! The owner doesn't care if you make a reservation & will cancel your room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
When booking reservations for large groups, it is customary that patrons are allowed to hold guest rooms without putting a valid credit card on file if they are not going to be responsible for payment on all the rooms. However, we also require that each individual call in and secure their room in that group within at least 2 weeks of the actual stay. When these conditions are not met, we reserve the right to cancel holds without notice. In this particular instance, an attempt to contact the person who initially booked the reservations was made but unsuccessful due to outdated or incorrect information on file.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I enjoyed my recent stay at this hotel. The staff and service provided to me and my family was excellent. I also saw that the staff at this hotel goes above and beyond for their guest. I noticed that one of the guest needed directions to the Auburn University campus and the David the desk clerk printed the directions out for the guest. From my personal view point I think this hotel is simply great and no hotel is perfect there will be times where things are wrong, but I think this is really good in several aspects. Great Breakfast, staff, and rooms. I found the hotel to be clean both exterior and interior. My room and bed was super clean and my family I enjoyed our stay. I will return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I read the reviews on this site before choosing this hotel and I found my experience to be excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I normally stay in a different hotel when I visit Opelika they were full went to this hotel on Saturday and the bed was nasty dirty u could see the dirt on the pillow cases and when we pulled back the sheet sheets were black and they should have been white. It made me gag went to lobby and of course no manger on duty but the desk clerk took pictures and had no choice but to give our money back. The thought is still making me sick that we may would slept on those sheets. Nedds less to say I want everyone to know sleep in your car before u stay here the place is nasty dirty I rate this the worst place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

very clean and comfortable room.nice staff and service,breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
4.8 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Opelika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
Address: 205 21st St, Opelika, AL 36801-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn! With spacious guest rooms and a new breakfast room, our Opelika hotel is truly a home away from home with the friendliest staff in town. Our hotel was recently updated as of July 2013. We offer a complimentary onsite fitness room and free hot breakfast buffet. All guest rooms have been upgraded with new furniture and 40-inch LCD TVs with Directv satellite programming. Our hotel location is close to Auburn University and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing