We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hotel was ok and fairly clean. Check your bill before you check out. The breakfast is complimentary for a reason.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cottonbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    85
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
70
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Do not live up to their policy, nor will corporate customer relations help any. Will not give refund. DO NOT STAY HERE. Wish I would have looked at TRIP ADVISOR ratings before I booked this. Will never stay at Best Western.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I've stayed here 3 times now as I have a child attending Auburn University. Never had any problems checking out as the other reviewers did. Everything in the room was fine, worked well and the beds are very comfortable. I never heard anything from the other rooms even though the hotel was sold out. Breakfast is not great but they do have waffles and sausage. The bathroom is fancier than I expected, It is convenient to Hwy 280 and very close to Tiger Town shops. You may have trouble finding it as it is half a block off the main road and they do not have a sign directing you to it. The front desk staff told me the city would not allow them to put any other signs up except for the ones on their property. Nothing fancy here but if Best Western is your style and budget, then I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldlchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The hotel owner,MR PATEL, could care less that my credit card was charged an additional $1000 beyond what I owed. The total amount due at checkout was charged on my credit card 5 times and twice in one day! Mr. Patel has only credited one mistake. He is aware that I am seeking legal charges against him.
My room was never cleaned during my time there and the wireless never worked. They made no attempt to fix anything. Mr. Patel stated he would correct the charges to my credit card, but he has only made one adjustment. for 1/4 of what was overcharged. DO NOT STAY HERE. THIS IS FRAUD.

Room Tip: WATCH YOUR CREDIT CARD IF YOU MUST STAY HERE! Wireless only works in rooms next to front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback and work continually to improve upon processes to satisfy the needs of our guests.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the seemingly endless barrage of mistakes that were made during this stay. We experienced some technical issues with our computer system's router which not only affected the wireless internet but also caused errors in our check in and out processes. Once we notified our help desk and learned of the failing equipment we placed an order for it's replacement, but unfortunately had to wait for authorized equipment to be delivered, which didn't arrive until the following Tuesday.

Normally when a guest checks in, the total amount due for the entire stay is pre-authorized on the credit card, not charged at that moment. In this case due to the glitch in the system, it appeared to have been authorized twice. The next thing that happened, was that when the guest extended the stay for an additional night, initially the normal rate was pre-authorized for that night. There was a reversal for that amount and the discounted rate was then pre-authorized. These were true system errors. The guest did indeed bring the pending amounts to our attention, but due to the nature of the circumstances simply declined me the opportunity to explain in detail what was happening. At the time of checkout, only the amount of $269.39 was actually charged to the guest.

As a member of the Best Western Hotel Chain, we strive to offer the best customer service in the industry. Details of the guest's complaint were researched thoroughly and are still available for resolution purposes. I can confidently say that there was no fraudulent activity present and would like to apologize once again for the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is nothing fancy but its clean, well located to restaurants, campus and the hiway. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable. Added bonus is they offer a game shuttle that runs to/from the hotel and campus. Breakfast was adequate for a quick bite but IHOP and Waffle House are within 5 minutes if you want something more substantial.

Great value and perfect for a football game weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfbruin1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

It took about 30 min to check out as we were mis-charged. Staff need training.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Clean, very comfortable king bed, courteous staff, great price!! Very close to Tiger town shopping and near East Alabama medical center.....Great stay for an in town Auburn football game or graduation!!!!!! Can't beat the price....free breakfast...only a mile or so to interstate 85....Also, alot of restaurants in the area...Give it a try, you wont be dissatisified!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel97Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Opelika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
4.8 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
3.5 mi away
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
Address: 205 21st St, Opelika, AL 36801-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn! With spacious guest rooms and a new breakfast room, our Opelika hotel is truly a home away from home with the friendliest staff in town. Our hotel was recently updated as of July 2013. We offer a complimentary onsite fitness room and free hot breakfast buffet. All guest rooms have been upgraded with new furniture and 40-inch LCD TVs with Directv satellite programming. Our hotel location is close to Auburn University and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing