We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Strongly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Opelika
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would Strongly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed at this motel for a couple of nights and enjoyed every night. It is close to several good restaurants. Very modern and fairly new motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    154
    64
    17
    19
See reviews for
305
77
51
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

When I arrived at this hotel I was so excited. It was in a location pretty much off by itself, surrounded by tons of open grassy space & far from the highways. This was great to me as I brought my border collie & husband with me for the week as I start my Master's degree at Auburn. This Microtel was one of the few places in town that allows dogs, has wi-fi in guest rooms, had GREAT rates, and wasn't a flat-out crappy hotel. When I walked into the hotel I got even more excited because it was just as nice as it looked in the pictures. It is a brand new hotel, is pretty & modern inside, is very clean and smells really great, and had a great space for the continental breakfast. However, when I arrived with my dog, the woman at the front desk let me know they only allowed service dogs (which mine is not). When I indicated to her that their website indicated that it was dog-friendly, AND that I had e-mailed them letting them know ahead of time that I would be bringing my dog. Her reply was "Oh, yes I did notice that you sent that. I should have called you." Well, that doesn't do me much good now that I'm here, 8 hours from home, without a place to stay, during the first week of school in a busy college town. I finally had to ask her to please recommend a place we could stay & call them to see if they had any open rooms. She was very nice throughout the conversation, but it was frustrating to not have been forewarned. Aside from the dog issue, I would completely recommend this hotel to anyone. It is worth 3 times what you pay. Again, great location that will keep loud roadway noises out, just a 5 or 6 mile drive from Auburn's campus, a beautiful hotel allover. Just don't bring your dog.. : ) And if you have any special needs or requests, I would recommend you CALL THEM to be sure they'll have what you need.

Room Tip: Suites will give you a lot more space if you plan to spend any extended time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savannah_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had an unplanned stay here due to it being very late and it had become very foggy making driving treacherous. We pulled off the highway, looked around a little and the Microtel looked pretty inviting considering the hour and the affordable rate. I had never stayed in a Microtel before and did not know what to expect, as the title says I was in for a pleasant surprise. The room, while not huge, was very nicely appointed and comfortable. The rooms were also extremely clean which is important to me. The breakfast, while basic, was tasty and there was plenty of selection.The staff was very friendly and accommodating and helped make the stay very enjoyable. All and all I am glad we made this stop and will definitely consider Microtel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

As a family we've outgrown one room with two beds, so now we have to book two rooms when we travel. With that said, staying at the Microtel easily allows us to pay for two rooms a night for almost the price of one night at most other hotels in the area. The hotel is practically brand new and is kept up very well. I would not hesitate to recommend this to any traveler, rich or not so rich at least checking it out the next time in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the second time in six months we have stayed at this hotel visiting family, and we will continue to stay here when we book in the future. Great value, clean, comfortable, more than adequate free breakfast. Most of the staff is extremely friendly. The woman who checked us in (on 11/21) was fantastic. We were put in a room across from the elevator and housekeeping storage room and were worried about the noise, so we asked to be moved to a room closer to the end of either hall. She immediately moved us to a room as far away from the elevators as possible, which meant upgrading us to a suite. The room was great and we certainly appreciated her helpfulness. If you're looking for a hotel in Opelika, you won't find an excellent room for a better value. Competitive hotels with good reviews cost twice as much per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on either end of the hall, away from the elevators - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

An okay stay, but probably won’t be coming back to the Microtel.
We booked this room a little late, and got a Queen Bed room for $80++. CONS: 1) Stay away from the Queen Bed room! It is TINY. The room is wide enough for a queen bed and a small nightstand on each side. That’s it. Very small. Also, all Queen Bed rooms are directly across from the elevator and ice machine (two things we try to avoid when making our reservations). We requested to move away from the elevator and ice and got a Two Queen room for the same price. This room was larger than the first, but still small than other hotels in the $75-80/night price range. 2) The beds and pillows are ROCK HARD and left us achy in the morning. 3) The breakfast was okay. Hot “eggs” and sausage or Canadian bacon. Bagels, toast, cereal, apples & oranges, etc. 4) The “Business Center” is a computer and printer placed on a counter two steps inside the front door, in full view of everyone coming and going, and kinda chilly when the doors open. Not ideal. 5) The room was noisy. The heat/AC kicked on/off through the night and was loud each time. Had to unplug the fridge in the middle of the night because it was so noisy.
PROS: 1) The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. They were helpful when we needed to change rooms, provided directions to the University, and made dining recommendations. 2) The hotel is very clean, in the rooms and common areas. 3) Convenient to Auburn U. and Tiger Town shopping. 4) Not much inter-room noise. There were several high school athletic teams in the hotel with us. We did not hear any of the kids moving around in the hallway or through the walls.
All in all, an okay stay. Not worth $80, but a decent $50 room. Probably will look for other accommodations on our next trip to Auburn though.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Queen Bed" room unless you are traveling alone and don't mind elevator and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisfurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriah, Al
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Was suppose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express but they overbooked & got some people like myself to change. The Microtel was new and thus is was very clean. The rooms are smaller than anything that I have every stayed in. The bath tub is very difficult to get out of. The breakfast was no more than average. We ate there one morning but opted to go elsewhere the other 2 mornings. Apparently there is not much between the walls in that we could hear the person snoring in the next room. We thought by changing hotels we were to get a discount on the rate. It was still $130 a night.
I looked at booking for another Auburn weekend but they wanted $160+ a night & they had a 2 night minimun. The location is good but it is just worth a $160 a night. I would rather stay 45 miles away at the Fairfield Inn in Montgomery and pay $100 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
7.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Opelika

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Opelika
Address: 1651 Parker Way, Opelika, AL 36801-7247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Opelika
#3 Business Hotel in Opelika
#4 Romantic Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Opelika 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn & Suites at Tigertown Opelika/Auburn Guest Rooms: All 77 guest rooms are smoke free, energy efficient designed, come with a 32-inch flat screen HD TV, equipped with a hospitality center which features a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. A daily free hot/continental extended breakfast, and in the evening we offer a complimentary manager's reception with light refreshments and tasty treats Monday-Thursday from 5-7p.m. Our spacious Suite rooms offer a sofa couch with an ottoman to relax. Also a dividing wall for privacy, breakfast nook with granite countertop, two bar stools, and a built in sink, it also has a great work area with two ergonomic chairs and a large work desk. Hotel Amenities: Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access (Wi-Fi), throughout the entire property, including all guest rooms, conference center and a 24-hour business center with secure remote printing. This way guest can stay connected at all times during their stay. Guest looking to stay focused and energized there's a fitness center and basketball goal. We also offer self-serve guest laundry, outdoor swimming pool with patio seating and at the end of the day relax at the gazebo under eco-friendly warm solar lighting. Local Attraction: Our property is located in Tiger Town next to shopping, dining, Tiger 13 Movie Theater, only 5 miles from downtown Auburn University where you can stroll down Toomer's Corner find the best Auburn Tiger Events, Concerts, Nightlife, Festivals, and much more. Stay at Microtel Inn & Suites at Tigertown Opelika/Auburn and enjoy the true meaning of "Southern Hospitality". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Opelika
Microtel Inn & Suites Opelika Hotel Opelika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing