We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We'll stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Perfectly ok hotel. We'd even stay here again, but... the TV channels were seriously lacking (I had 2 young children that about freaked when there was no Disney channel or Nickelodeon) and the pool was a little dirty (dead bugs) although we still swam in it. I was also expecting a refrigerator in room and there was none. (I have just become accustomed to other Holiday Inn Expresses that DO have fridges.)

Everything else was great. The staff seems very nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasufobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
14
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

I checked into this hotel unexpectedly, after a pipe in my home broke, and could not be more pleased with the service I received. Upon entering the hotel's lobby, I was greeted by a very friendly young woman at the front desk who, within a matter of minutes, checked me into one of the hotel's single king, non-smoking rooms. She presented me with two keys, directed me to the elevators, and up I went to the third floor in search of my room. The lobby and elevator were well kept, with no noticeable debris or other trash to be found. The hallways on the third floor were well lit, the carpet was well maintained, and I found the environment as quiet as I could ask for in a bustling hotel.

Swiping the Domino's Pizza endorsed key card in the lock of my door, I found myself in a well furnished room that appeared to have been carefully designed, arranged, and maintained. Just inside the door I sat my bag on a leather covered bench, which sat next to a dark-wood chest of drawers that held the Philips 32" LCD flat screen. Across from the television and dresser was the king-size bed, dressed in white sheets, a hunter green throw at its foot, and four feather filled pillows at the head. The wall behind the bed was painted green, in contrast with all the others walls that were coated in a neutral tan. Along with a comfy chair upholstered in a geometric pattern and a spacious desk and rolling chair, the remaining design touches all played off each other in both color and texture.

I was extremely impressed with the quality of furnishings, cleanliness of the hotel, and helpfulness of the staff. I also found the bathroom to be a pleasant surprise, as the shower head actually produced decent water pressure and the water remained hot during my twenty minute shower. An interesting touch, the bathroom did not have the standard tub/shower but a stand-up shower a guest walks into, separated not by a shower curtain but the shower's own walls (one walks into the shower, turns, takes a step or two, and finds themselves directly under the shower head).

Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here one night. The facilities are brand new, immaculately clean, and the beds are super comfortable. The clerk at the check-in desk was very friendly, gave us a special rate. However, when we asked for suggestions as where to eat, NOT a chain, she could only suggest various chains. There was no literature available on restaurants, things to do in the area, etc. We were told there was an "excellent breakfast", but we were disappointed: no fresh fruit, only juice; the eggs and bacon were tasteless.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disheveledprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

This is a very nice, new hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Don't plan to get any work done here though. The wireless internet is extremely slow. I tried to use my laptop in my room, but websites would time out before finishing loading. I then went to the business center and tried the Holiday Inn computers with the same result. I complained to the front desk, and they responded that they have the same problem and recommended that I go over to the Fairfield Inn to complete my work. Fortunately the Fairfield Inn has not put security on their wireless network, so I was able to hang out there to get my work done. This was an agonizing experience. What a shame that such a nice hotel is totally useless to modern business travelers.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rassignor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Beautiful, brand new hotel. Quiet, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable room. Super comfortable beds! Great, hot breakfast!

  • Liked — Brand new!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godawgMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
4.7 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
5.2 mi away
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Address: 1801 Capps Lndg, Opelika, AL 36804-7509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Opelika
#5 Family Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Opelika Auburn, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika-Auburn, Alabama! We are conveniently located on I-85 at exit 58, just a short drive to downtown Auburn and Opelika. With our world class service and many Opelika-Auburn businesses, restaurants and attractions within minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Opelika-Auburn! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in-room amenities such as free wireless high-speed Internet access and 32 flat panel LCD TVs. We offer a variety of room types and suites to suit all travelers. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor whirlpool, outdoor pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Take advantage of some of our convenience amenities such as our guest laundry and complimentary Smart Start breakfast bar. Points of interest: Companies: Benteler, Donaldson, Briggs and Stratton, Gambro, Mando Hospitals: East Alabama Medical Center Universities: Auburn University AU Local attractions: Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Softball Complex, Chewacla State Park, Jordan Hare Stadium Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Opelika-Auburn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Opelika Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing