We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh”
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House - CLOSED

Wintzell's Oyster House
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wausau
Level Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had the seafood platter. Many times the best of restaurants screw this up. Not this place. They have multiple dedicated fryers to cook each item right. Not all items can be in the same oil, same temperature . This way every thing does not all taste the same. The tarter sauce is homemade. The shrimp cocktail sauce is made grab daily. And the gumbo is very good, must be a Cajun in the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QCWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not our best visit”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went on Friday night and got a table next to the waiter's registar. It seemed like the table was picked to rotate waiters seating more than getting the best table available. Many better tables were available. We shared a dozen of the grill oysters to start and they were very good. Entrees were more average but well priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Honestbluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont MI
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went here with high expectations basedon recommendaitons from a friend in the area. Butr the food was a let down, The fired oysters and shrip are very average at best, do not compare at all favorable=y to those items in any of the fish places in Gulf Shores, Appalachicola, etc., same for the gumbo. And the fish was badly overcooked for me and companions. Service just OK. After the fist visit I decided to try again (twice)to be fair, no improvment, will not return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The oysters were fantastic and the service superb. We also had blackened talapia and the fish was so delicious. The scenery is the best you could ind because you are right next the the Black Warrioor River.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the appetizers”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wintzell's has lots of good standard fare seafood with some notable exceptions. The appetizers are excellent. Definitely try the smoked tuna dip. It's wonderful. Also, the dragon drink, their specialty, is good if you like fruity drinks. This restaurant is right on the river and offers a relaxing enjoyable view.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wearywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing