We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far flung but awesome BBQ”
Review of New Market BBQ

New Market BBQ
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in New Market
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: One of the Best Old Fashioned Hickory Pit Smoked BBQ Joints in the Huntsville AL area! We are your Weekend Destination for BBQ in North Alabama - Open Fri-Sun only, so make your weekend plans around dining with us! Be sure to try our Smoked Mac n Cheese which is on the 100 Dishes to Eat in Alabama Before You Die List! Join us on Facebook to keep up with our weekly specials. We also CATER! We offer seating on our screened in porch, outdoor dining at our picnic pavilion or you can pickup on the way home - HINT - Order Ahead on our Website. We look forward to serving your family real soon! FREE WIFI! Libby & Kelly Webb, Owner / Operators
Reviewed December 8, 2018

Based on a recommendation from a friend, a group of us from Huntsville were in the area so we gave New Market BBQ a try. There are plenty of really excellent BBQ places in Alabama, but this little gem in New Market, AL (about 20 miles from downtown Huntsville) is well worth the drive. I was truly surprised to find such excellent BBQ in a small town, but they clearly pour their heart into their food, and the owners are both genuine and friendly...boy can they cook! A few standouts were the smoked Mac & Cheese, pulled pork, and beef brisket, and while you may be too full to eat it there, they had a chocolate cake which was fantastic...just take that sucker home! We enjoyed their food so much we ordered a second plate of just pork after lunch to take home; we scarfed it down over the next two days with no sauce because the delicious smoky flavor reminded me of a Hawaiian favorite - Kalua Pig, just like what you get at a Hawaiian luau. This part of Alabama, near the Tennessee border, is very pretty, so take the time if you are anywhere near south-central Tennessee or Huntsville, AL to experience some of the best BBQ I have ever tasted.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Desertrat2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2018

Tried New Market BBQ for lunch. Menu is a little confusing. Ordered the Brisket dinner plate with potato salad and pinto bean w/corn bread. The brisket was tender and good. We do not use salt so the rub that was used was salty to us. Potato salad and pinto beans were also good. Their BBQ sauce was good also.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMARKETBBQ, Owner at New Market BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Thank you RJ. We appreciate you guys giving us a try and we look forward to serving you again real soon. Thank you for your feedback. Would love to hear from you regarding our menu being confusing. If you don’t mind connect with us via email so we can address the problem. Thanks again for eating with us! Info at newmarketbbq dot com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

New Market BBQ did our catering for my Dad's 90th birthday luncheon. I can’t come up with enough kind words to say about them. Their online ordering process is simple and thorough. The owner is “hands on” from start to finish. Delivery was quick and on time. The food was nothing short of perfection! We ordered the pork and chicken and both were moist and the best BBQ I have ever tasted! The sides were awesome as well. If you ever, ever, EVER want some mouth watering, delicious BBQ, I highly recommend them!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caroleaustinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMARKETBBQ, Owner at New Market BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you Carole! We were super happy to be a part of your special day for your Dad. Thanks for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to serve your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Had company visiting from Memphis TN so we went to New Market BBQ..Even though Memphis has World Famous BBQ my company proclaimed New Market BBQ the best ribs he's ever eaten.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank magnolia1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby W, Owner at New Market BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Awe thank you so much for the feedback! We sure appreciate you guys sharing Nee Market BBQ with your visiting friends and family. Your kind words have made our day! We look forward to serving you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

New Market BBQ is a great old fashioned family BBQ joint. The food is great especially the pies. Everything is freshand tasty. Don't forget to pet the pig on the way out!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMARKETBBQ, Owner at New Market BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thanks Tammy for taking the time to share your feedback with us as a review! We are grateful for your business and support! We look forward to serving you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Market BBQ also viewed

 

Been to New Market BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing