We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Muscle Shoals
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM, 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
  
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
44
18
7
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
44
18
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music history our tour guide recording studio love music great tour aretha franklin working studio music lovers sound studios road trip sound engineer documentary instruments stories wurlitzer knowledge equipment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Studios: 5 stars, Guide: 1 star.
Finally got to the legendary Fame studios, the place where some of my most favourite recording were made.
I recommend going there but not with the guide we had. (the one with the long hair and the glasses)
He turned uo late, didn't have anything special to tell.
And man, when you're in the mixing booth to listen to recordings, please don't play Alan Jackson or Michael mcDonald (good singers by the way) instead of Aretha, Etta or Candi!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

My husband and I went to FAME first between choosing between the two music recording studios (other being Muscle Shoals on Jackson Hwy) and were very very VERY disappointed and almost did not go to the other studio. We were ushered quickly through the two recording sets, very little info shared except for spewing off a few famous singers and instruments pointed out as the guide sat cross legged on a piece of furniture. Someone mentioned after the tour that the studio was setting up for a recording session and I would have rather been told to come back later than have such an abbreviated tour . Learned more from the Muscle Shoals DVD recommended to us by family to watch before going on tours. Reading a few of the positive reviews and feel very cheated from what could have been a fantastic experience with the right guide at the right time.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

We were really looking forward to this studio tour as we’re huge Aretha Franklin fans and we’ve seen the documentary “Muscle Shoals” twice.

The one positive experience were the two guys working at the gift store and office - they were friendly and polite.

Unfortunately our tour guide was arrogant and seemed very uninterested in doing the tour. He just wanted to get it over with, speaking fast and responding to all questions in a condescending manner. The tour was supposed to be between 45-60 minutes, but it was over after 30. We only got to see Studio B and Rick Hall’s office, not Studio A (maybe there was a recording session going on there.)

As some visitors asked him questions about his own music career, we got to hear more about that than the Aretha Franklin or Wilson Pickett sessions at FAME.

It was a startling contrast compared to the tour at Muscle Shoals Sound Studio, where the guide really had a reverence and passion for the studio and the music that came out of there - and care about his role as a tour guide.

Sorry to say, the FAME tour was a disappointment after driving there from Memphis, where we had great experiences at the Stax museum, and then a great tour at Muscle Shoals Sound Studio.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank nikkio736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

My first time in a recording studio, our host was amazing with the history and stories he told about the activity at this famous studio.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank williamnH405IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

Awesome tour and a great shop! Photo of bathroom where Keith Richard's wrote "Wild Horses"!!! Many of the original items are still in use and the stories told during the tour are incredible!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank AFTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews