We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generic, vanilla....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Moody

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Moody
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moody
Wardensville, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Generic, vanilla....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Motel 6 type room. Some odor, I think it usually was used for families with pets. Everythinjg in room was generic. Beds were somewhat hard. No restaurants nearby. Receptionist polite and helpful. Large bath-tub. Air conditioning, wireless internet good. Accepted AARP discount.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
23
13
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were traveling from TX to SC with our two kids plus our small pets and decided to stay for the night at this motel. Worst decision because the room is not worth the price, the bathroom was disgusting with the bath tub walls having pubic hairs and dirty handprints plus the shower curtain being moldy. The bathroom was also smelly like urine. There were no toiletries provided either. What kind of housekeeping is being done? The beds were not that great either and the room smelled like smoke although it was a non-smoking room. This motel should be shut down because it is a disgrace to the Super 8 Motel chain!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janie74us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moody hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

I know "Low End Super 8" may sound redundant but I've stayed in some pretty decent ones before. This is not one of them. I was looking for a cheap place to crash for the night and got what I paid for. Check in was quick. Neighborhood looked sketchy. I didn't feel safe and was worried about my vehicle. Nothing happened. Looked like a lot of contractors were staying there and the hotel was quiet. Room was ok. Not the cleanest but about what I expected by the look of the property. If you need a cheap place to lay your head for the night this would probably be ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrdbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moody, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Yes it was cheaper than staying in Birmingham, but it was not worth the money I paid. Don't call the 800 number ... they said the hotel was full. I got a CHEAPER rate on Priceline as soon as I hung up with the person who answered the 800 number, who incidently couldn't tell the difference between Moody, AL and Mobile, AL. I told her 3 times I wanted the Super 8 in Moody. She kept telling me there was no such place in Mobile. It would be nice if the people on the other end of the phone could UNDERSTAND english.
Checked in just before midnight. FREE parking. Front desk staff was friendly. Room was ok. Towels were smelly. Make sure you take the bedspread off, don't even think of laying on it. Was able to access WiFI from the room. Basically it was a crash pad from midnight until 7:00AM. Free CNN & HBO.
Breakfast available was coffee, frosted flakes and fruit loops in dispensers (don't ask me how long they looked like they had been in there), and English Muffins. OJ was in the fridge.. I just took the coffee ... and headed to Burger King for HOT food!!! Waffle House is also nearby. I would give this hotel 5/10

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank road_traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have to say I cannot recommend this motel. The blankets smelled and seemed unclean, we were woken up by a staff member knocking at 7:30 am after we were trying to sleep in after a long nights drive, they did not replace our towels, when we arrived the room was scorching hot, and we were refused even an extra 15 minutes for extended check out.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank streetlightbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW AR
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

This is an older property, and like a couple of other Super 8s that I've stayed at over the last few years, it is undergoing renovation and repair (I saw a contractor working, before I left). The room is quiet. The staff was particularly helpful, when I arrived near midnight, and the website I'd used had bungled my reservation. They took care of the previous reservation, billed me the same rate, and got me a room in about 2 minutes.
The room was fairly standard: TV, microwave, fridge, two double beds (all that was available), coffee service, hair dryer, etc. However, unlike some other places I've stayed, it was very, very clean. The bed was on the low end, but I slept well. The area was extremely humid, and the upper walls in the bathroom showed signs of recent work and uneven paint. I was worried that there was mold, because I have severe mold allergies, but upon closer inspection, there was none (turns out they air out each room for several hour, after cleaning).
This is no resort, but if you don't want to pay a hundred dollars or more for a clean room in the Birmingham area, drive the extra 20 minutes. This is a steal. (And visit the Waffle House before you leave for one of the nicest staffs you've ever met. The Super 8 folks were great, but the Waffle House folks stand out from years of traveling)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWA_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

Nice clean hotel, very quiet. Great deal for the price. Large rooms.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank funplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moody
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bass Hotel & Suites
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
17.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside/Pell City
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Trussville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Moody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Moody

Property: Super 8 Moody
Address: 2451 Moody Parkway, Moody, AL 35004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Moody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Moody 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Moody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Moody
Moody Super Eight
Moody Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing