We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Downtown Montgomery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location in Downtown Montgomery!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for one night on 4/11/14 and could not have been more pleased. We are originally from Montgomery and it's nice to see how much they have done to reinvent the downtown area. The room as clean, hotel was very pretty and the breakfast was very good. The one thing that we were so impressed with and prompted me to write this review was the staff. The three staff members working throughout Friday (day and night 4/11/14) were beyond helpful and pleasant. Great personalities and so friendly! They went out of their way to make suggestions for us to help us as we were trying to figure out routes, dining, parking and tourist options. I wish I had their names so I could mention them, but they made our stay a great one! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    182
    67
    41
    23
See reviews for
156
184
33
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Daytona, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely old building, nice appointed with all the modern comforts and conveniences. I stayed for two nights and was very, very comfortable. The only "disturbance" was that my room was located right behind the elevator shaft...not that it was terribly noisy, but the sound sound of the elevator going up and down (kind of a "whoosh/roll" sound) may be bothersome to some. All staff I encountered were pleasant. The continental breakfast was better than most I usually see at Hampton Inns...same stuff, but much better maintained. I will definitely always check this hotel for availability when traveling to Montgomery in the future!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms right behind the elevator shaft, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEasterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hampton Inn in Montgomery. It was a nice price point and the location was perfect. Easy on/off freeway access and all of the historic landmarks were in walking distance. There is also a nice variety of restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eclectic
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

In one word... AWESOME... a remodeled hotel that has all of the modern amenities but retains much of the old style. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The staff is always friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help. And the complimentary breakfast... yes, awesome!!! The location is also great... within walking distance of all downtown Montgomery river area activities, including the Montgomery Biscuits games.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the downtown Hampton on 3/28/14. I left my watch on the desk when I checked out. I called the hotel about an hour and a half after I left. The desk person checked with the cleaning crew and then I was told that they had found the watch. I asked them if they could hold it until the next Friday when I would be coming back by there, and they said sure. On Friday I called to say I would be there to pick it up. At that time I was told that they didn't have the watch, that they had found a silver make up case and not a watch. Big difference between a make up case and a watch. The manager called me back about 10 minutes later and ask me to dsescribe the watch. When I descrbed it as a black watch , she told me they had found a siver watch..So first they foiund my watch, and then it was changed to a make up case, and then to a silver watch. There is no doubt that they found my watch and then someone took it. The manager defended the staff and had no explanation for all the different stories. I will never stay at a Hampton Inn again. Can't stand thieves and that's what they have working for them and they defend them.

Room Tip: Stay some where else
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pop6371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakresha D, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. However, I would like to also advise you that the watch that you reported lost was never found. The housekeeping staff did locate a watch, but the watch was silver and not black. The housekeeping attendant that located the watch speaks very little english, and misunderstood what was being asked. I apologize, that we dropped the ball on assuring the item was yours, before calling you back. Please accept my sincere apology for any trouble or inconvenience this may have caused to you. I was out when the incident occured, in which you spoke with my Guest Service Manager, however I will be in contact with you in the coming days to make our best attempt in regaining your confidence in our company. In addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occuring in the future. Again, thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future,

Lakresha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Although refurbished, much of the classic charm remains in this grand old downtown hotel. Helpful staff, nice rooms, a great downtown location and a tasty breakfast make for a very pleasant stay. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice hotel near the riverwalk and baseball stadium. Was original assigned room 211 but didn't like it because the view was of the airhandler; Ramona at the front desk was happy to change the room for us. Sure glad she did as we were able to see the riverwalk, the riverboat and the fireworks at the end of the game from our new room 901. The hotel was in a remodeled old building so the room was set up kind of funny but there was plenty of space and everything was neat and clean. We were told it would be about 20 min before the valet could get out car to us from the valet parking lot but he was back way before that; thanks!!

Room Tip: Room 901 during baseball season to see the 11 pm fireworks Do not stay in room 211!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Address: 100 Commerce St, Montgomery, AL 36104-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#10 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Montgomery, this hotel is located in the fascinating historic district. Explore Montgomery's interesting history or treat yourself to an afternoon of shopping. Visit the Civil Rights Memorial & Center, admire the Confederate War Memorial, or walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail. This hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Play a game at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or stroll through Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, or stay productive at our 24 hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing