We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed here last weekend. Great location in downtown-walking distance to many places. The whole downtown area is so clean & felt very safe. Yes, the parking area is small, but we always had a place, even coming in late.
The room was very nice & clean. I wished I had taken my own hairdryer as the one in the room is one of the small ones. You could hear some street noise as we were on the second floor, not sure I would want this room during the week but it was not a big problem on the weekend.
We would stay here again-loved the history of the place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to serve you during your visit to Montgomery's historic downtown area. Your comments and concerns are greatly appreciated as well. We do have a very challenging parking situation, but strive to accommodate every guest. Our historic hotel is beautiful and interesting, but there weren't many cars when it was built!

When you come back to see us again, ask for a guest room on a high floor. The views of downtown are awesome; and there is no street noise up there.

Thanks again for staying with us! We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 716 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Within walking distance of shopping, eating, culture. Clean, well appointed room. Comfortable beds. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the elevator and we never heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naniboujou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Awesome! We can't wait to have you here again. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and for sharing your thoughts with us. We are proud of our historic hotel and strive to give every guest a great experience during their visit.

Thanks again. We appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Parking: Although their website states free self-parking - this is misleading. They have a very small surface lot next to the hotel facing Bibb Street that can maybe accommodate 12 cars. If that lot is full they offer valet parking for $5/day. To valet park, pull into the small pull-out area off Commerce Street that is directly in front of the hotel entrance and go inside to request valet parking. There is also metered street parking all around the hotel that is free after 6pm and before 8am.

Value: For a downtown hotel this Hampton is a great value in comparison to the adjacent Renaissance and nearby Embassy Suites. The hotel is in a refurbished 10-story historic building that used to be a bank and hotel. It offers the typical complementary Hampton breakfast with an adequate dining area with some overflow seating in the adjacent lobby. The historic lobby area is very nice. The rooms have the décor of an updated Hampton with large walk in showers (no tubs). They kept the old windows which are solidly painted shut so the only air circulation is from the heat/AC controls which I found a little tricky to get to a comfortable setting. There is no fan in the bathroom. The hotel was totally remodeled in 2008 and is starting to show some minor signs of wear such as the toilet paper holder was broken and the maid just left the rolls on the bathroom counter.

Location: The location is great for walking to the adjacent convention center (part of the Renaissance Hotel and Spa), the minor league baseball park, or any downtown business. The area felt safe and there are several choices for dinner in the adjacent “The Alley” development. I read in some previous reviews about complaints about the train noise during the night. Although my window faced that direction I only heard the trains faintly, so it was not a major problem for me and I would guess that the train noise would be worse at the Renaissance or Embassy Suites.

Overall I found this to be a good hotel and what I would expect from a Hampton Inn. Just be aware of the likely need to valet park.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and conderns with us and with other travelers. We always appreciate such thorough reviews which enable us to continually improve our facilities and services to ensure satisfaction for every guest.

We do have parking challenges with such a small lot. Our attempt to rectify that is the valet parking service; and encouraging guests who are not comfortable with valet to use the parking at the nearby meters during the free hours. You will find our $5 charge extremely reasonable by comparison to other downtown parking charges.

Let me express again my appreciation for your review and for your business. The information you shared will not be wasted. We are using it to make your next stay even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hotel is in a great location. The staff was very hepful. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawjejw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

I love it when our guests can say they had a great stay! Thank you so much for giving us the oppotunity to serve you. You are always welcome and appreciated here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, felt safe and you could walk to several choices for dinner. We liked the fact that it was in a historical building, typical Hampton breakfast and nice updated decor with large walk in shower. I requested a room with a view and away from elevator. We had a corner room and it was very large with lots of windows. There were a couple of "cleanliness" issues. There was some hair in the shower and a toothpick under the desk. Yuck , but that type of thing seems to happen.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdelano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel and may be my last. I do love the location because it is right downtown and there are many things to do if you love the night life. They have a very small parking lot that can hold only about 15 vehicles or you can park about 2 blocks away in their overflow parking lot for $5.00 for either lot. I did not learn that until their parking lot was full. You also have the option of parking on the street using the metered parking. That is perfect if you are staying on weekends, holidays, after 5 pm and leaving before 8 am. Check in service was very good. It was the old Greystone Hotel they moved into but I think they did a great job with the rooms. I had room 502 with had 3 windows over looking downtown. My only problem was with the overnight desk clerk. He was not helpful or welcoming at all. He spent most of his time playing games on his personal computer. When we walked by he would not even speak or acknowledge your presence. I overheard a guest ask him for the nearest gas station and he said: "right up the street." Check out staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhizKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We found this hotel delightful. The lobby was beautiful. First when we got there we notice that our room door would not lock; however, it was repaired very quickly. Parking is also terrible, valet is offered only during the week and the parking lot is designed for about 8-10 cars. In addition, you do not have control of the room temperature, you must contact the front desk. Other than that the staff was extremely nice, beds comfy, and it's in the perfect location to everything, which is just about walking distance. We would stay again

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Address: 100 Commerce St, Montgomery, AL 36104-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#10 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: $135 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Montgomery, this hotel is located in the fascinating historic district. Explore Montgomery's interesting history or treat yourself to an afternoon of shopping. Visit the Civil Rights Memorial & Center, admire the Confederate War Memorial, or walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail. This hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Play a game at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or stroll through Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, or stay productive at our 24 hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing