We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, even when stuck during a storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, even when stuck during a storm”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had the misfortune to be in Montgomery during a bad winter storm, so I spent about half my trip stuck in the hotel with nowhere to go. I appreciate the hotel had difficulties providing services during that time due to staff availability and they did do their best to keep us provided with food and amenities.

The room itself was very big and comfortable, with a great bathroom. I had a good view of the river, and was perfectly happy with the room in every way. Housekeeping do a great job of maintaining the standards.

The bar is quite small, although I can see that it would be better in the summer with the outdoor area. On the only storm free night that I wanted to eat in the restaurant, they were only serving a quite expensive pre-theatre set menu, so that was annoying. However the location is good for nearby restaurants.

Overall I would stay here again and would recommend it as a good downtown Montgomery option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominoDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank You so much for staying with us at the Renaissance Montgomery and thank you for your patience during the ice storm and state of emergency here in Alabama. I appreciate your positive comments which I will share with our staff and I will also share your feedback in reagards to the pre-set menu with our Food and Beverage Director.Once again thank you for your comments

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    165
    66
    27
    33
See reviews for
110
118
16
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Decided to join my husband for a 3-day business meeting. I had business to take care of myself, and knew that "by day", I would have to pretty much stay in the room and get through a few on-line courses, but "by night", I could enjoy the company of those here with his conference. If you're going to be "cooped up", this is a great place to do it. Everything is clean and well-appointed. Nice view from room #727. Front desk, Housekeeping and Room Service personnel have all been great!! Very professional and quick to share a smile. The food with Room Service is VERY GOOD, and the prices were surprisingly fair. The hotel staff has been VERY accommodating!! I may venture out, before the trip is over, but if not, this has been a great visit.... "cooped up in this room."

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSVKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike E, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay and appreciate the kind words regarding our hotel personnel. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Very dependably above average. An oasis on a tired sports trip or business. Great soft linens and option of relaxing tub or separate roomy shower. Stayed here when packed house and never a prob with water temp or water pressure. When there is room, hotel honors every detail of special request re room location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike E, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I wish I could give this hotel a top rating but they failed to provide one simple ingredient, a room free from noise. The party in the hallway started at 10PM and continued until 3AM. Several calls were made to the front desk to complain but it was obvious they lacked the proper security to control crowds. This hotel is attached to a convention center so you are warned! I left a comment card at the front desk for the general manger (Mike) outlining our concerns but I have not heard from him as of date (28 Dec).

Room Tip: High floor, corner room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not observe any environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICJOYNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike E, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa. We sincerely apologize for inconvenience of the noise during your stay. Per our phone conversation we look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed there because we had a party for work in the convention center and we got a discount on the room.
The pluses:
+Friendly and helpful staff
+Clean and welcoming foyer and entrance
+Good quality breakfast buffet
Minuses:
-Self-parking $12 per vehicle per day (unfortunately we had to have two cars with us)
-The parking garage is a separate building so you have to take the elevator to the bottom floor and walk back into the hotel lobby area to get the elevator to your room
-Fee for internet
-Cleanliness issues with room (I discussed it with the hotel staff so I will not go into it here)
-No free breakfast ($16 per person for their buffet)

I understand that you normally pay for breakfast and internet with this class of hotel but if it were not for the convenience I would probably have stayed in the Embassy Suites across the street (of course that would put me closer to the railway line, see below).
Others have mentioned the proximity of the railway line next to the river. The train woke me up in the wee small hours of the morning. To avoid it you could request a room on the parking garage side of the hotel although you will then be missing the view of the river. I heard one train on a Saturday morning. Not sure if that is standard traffic on the line.

To summarize, I felt that I could have done better staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: To avoid the possibility of being woken up by a train pick a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike E, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa. We are grateful that you complimented our staff and enjoyed your event.

The parking garage is owned by the city and managed by a third party even though we allow guests to charge parking to their rooms as a courtesy. You may enter the hotel building via the garage elevator on the 2nd floor.

Also please be aware we do offer basic complimentary internet in the guestrooms. There is a more enhanced high speed level for $9.95 for video chat, conference, downloading large files and streaming videos. This level includes long distance phone calls, too. This should have been noticed on the web browser.

Thank you for bringing attention to detail to our staff regarding other concerns.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the corner suites and the bathroom and room were huge. Very nice accommodations and the service was friendly, but not spectacular. We were on the side opposite the convention center and some of the bars/restaurants on that side were noisy but eventually quieted down. Overall a very nice looking hotel but still a few areas for improvement.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DPoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike E, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words regarding our services. We look forward to your return. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is overated for the price, next time I will stay at the Embassy right across the street. The heater did not work in my room and after complaining, a resolution was not met. Both managers (Kevin [---] and Mandy [---] told me that I can complain all I want but basically take what was offered to me which was some points to go on my rewards card. The only good thing is that the other staff members were super nice and went out of their way to make the situation somewhat better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinki9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center

Property: Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Address: 201 Tallapoosa Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Montgomery, Alabama luxury hotels choose Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center. Our Montgomery, Alabama hotel's stunning architecture highlighted by modern amenities and a rooftop pool makes us a top choice for discerning guests. We are an Alabama capitol hotel situated downtown, near Maxwell Air Force Base, and we are a stylish hotel that features more than 103,000 square feet of meeting space, an 1,800-seat performing arts center, a 73,000-square-foot exhibit hall, and a 9,000-square-foot European spa. Comfort reigns supreme in each of our guest rooms featuring high-tech amenities, such as HD LCD TVs, wireless and touch screen phones, Wi-Fi, and a connectivity panel for all electronic devices. Enjoy delectable cuisine at The House restaurant in our hotel and mingle at The Exchange, our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel And Spa At The Montgomery
Montgomery Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing