We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant, and oh-so-expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Spent a week at the Renaissance in Montgomery, AL and found it had many ups and a few downs. First the ups.
The hotel has an absolutely fabulous pool/hot tub/fitness center located on the roof of the parking garage (seven-or-eight stories in the air). There is a running track around the perimeter of the top level and a bar (open when the weather is more moderate, I'm sure). From the pool deck, you have a great overlook on the streets below, which have several great restaurants, ranging from Italian right across the street to a fantastic oyster bar.

The rooms are nicely appointed, each bathroom has a large shower seperate from a bath tub on the other side. There is a great writing desk, coupled to the room's TV, that can be used to interface your computer/Ipad/xbox, etc. (more on that in downs). No complaints about the rooms in size and cleanliness.

The hotel has a wonderful patio bar where, even in the winter, there are heaters set up to keep off the night chill. Happy hour has $2 beers (5-7 pm, I think, but check) and there are some great food items on the menu. The greatest attraction, though, of the hotel patio bar is the nightly entertainment. Very talented local musicians set up and play for a few hours most nights (could be every night, don't know for sure), but not so loudly you can't talk to your company.

Across from the hotel is a place called "The Alley" that has a variety of shops/restaurants/bars for you to wander through if you're inclined.

The downs are:

Someone needs to put some instructions on the TV. Because it has so many features, the thing is nearly impossible to turn on at times (when someone else left it in some configuration you don't know about). Much better instructions could be provided.

The wi-fi costs $9.95/day, which is pretty expensive when most hotels offer free wi-fi. Especially since this hotel is not a discount place.

Parking in the garage is also pretty steep at $12/day and there isn't a lot of choice in the matter, since the streets around the hotel are pretty filled with cars (because of the popular entertainment and food places).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 609 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is my third visit to the Renaissance for a convention. As usual, the hotel was clean and well-taken care of. Although my club level room was not ready for an early check-in, I was allowed to go to our group's Hospitality Suite. The front desk said that they would call me when my room was ready. I was anxious to get into my room and after waiting over an hour, I walked down to my room and spoke with housekeeping who said it had been ready. The front desk did not call me and I had to do it myself, but regardless, I got my room. The Club level is nice, but a waste of money on a weekend when the club is closed. During the week, the free food and beverages was nice. Housekeeping did a nice job and the room service workers were always kind and polite. The rooms are light and airy and well-kept..but maybe 1 more year from needing refreshing. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room viewing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenbug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have been doing business in Montgomery for years and have stayed at the Ren ever since it has opened. They have done a great job putting together a world-class experience in Montgomery. The rooms are well appointed and very clean, although you can here activIty in the hallway. Room service food is surprisingly good, but not inexpensive.

The lounge area, including the outdoor lounge is really a great place for a drink after work.


Most importantly thet have done a great job training the staff, who are very friendly, and helpful.

The only drawbacks are paying for WiFi, pricey valet parking (cheaper and quicker to self back which is in the back of the hotel), and limited television options.

Overall a great hotel. The Ren would be $400+ in a major city.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mecallihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A large, serviceable and ordinary convention hotel in Montgomery. Part of the downside with hotels like this one is dealing with the crush of humanity -- when we were there, there were a large meeting of a black sorority organization and a volleyball tournament. The lobby area seemed always hectic. That said, we were generally pleased with our stay. The room was large, the bed was comfy, the hotel restaurant had a yummy breakfast buffet with great coffee. Gripes -- a pet peeve is lack of free wi-fi. The shower was a little weak, also, and the restaurant service was inattentive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorytory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

From check-in to departure, satisfying experience. Requested and got a riverview for the New Year's fireworks which was spectacular! Clean carpet everywhere, professional staff and comfortable room with HD TV and roomy bathroom with walk-in shower. And they can handle a crowd which they (not surprisingly) got for New Years Eve.

Room Tip: riverview or cityview whichever you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YELLOWJASMINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was the second time I stayed here for a conference. Everything was great (staff, room, dining, room service, etc.)
The only problem I had was the television had issues. The service staff was outstanding in responding to the issue and they were extremely courteous. Issue was resolved immediately.
Good dining choices nearby. Will definitely only stay here when I come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed 1 night in this hotel for a conference. The room was clean and well appointed. Super nice glassed in shower. There are several dining choices within comfortable walking distance in addition to hotel dining/bar. I would return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhamALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center

Address: 201 Tallapoosa St, Montgomery, AL 36104-2662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: $120 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Montgomery, Alabama luxury hotels choose Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center. Our Montgomery, Alabama hotel's stunning architecture highlighted by modern amenities and a rooftop pool makes us a top choice for discerning guests. We are an Alabama capitol hotel situated downtown, near Maxwell Air Force Base, and we are a stylish hotel that features more than 103,000 square feet of meeting space, an 1,800-seat performing arts center, a 73,000-square-foot exhibit hall, and a 9,000-square-foot European spa. Comfort reigns supreme in each of our guest rooms featuring high-tech amenities, such as HD LCD TVs, wireless and touch screen phones, Wi-Fi, and a connectivity panel for all electronic devices. Enjoy delectable cuisine at The House restaurant in our hotel and mingle at The Exchange, our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel And Spa At The Montgomery
Montgomery Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing