We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Typical convention hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A large, serviceable and ordinary convention hotel in Montgomery. Part of the downside with hotels like this one is dealing with the crush of humanity -- when we were there, there were a large meeting of a black sorority organization and a volleyball tournament. The lobby area seemed always hectic. That said, we were generally pleased with our stay. The room was large, the bed was comfy, the hotel restaurant had a yummy breakfast buffet with great coffee. Gripes -- a pet peeve is lack of free wi-fi. The shower was a little weak, also, and the restaurant service was inattentive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorytory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    181
    68
    27
    34
See reviews for
121
125
19
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

From check-in to departure, satisfying experience. Requested and got a riverview for the New Year's fireworks which was spectacular! Clean carpet everywhere, professional staff and comfortable room with HD TV and roomy bathroom with walk-in shower. And they can handle a crowd which they (not surprisingly) got for New Years Eve.

Room Tip: riverview or cityview whichever you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YELLOWJASMINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was the second time I stayed here for a conference. Everything was great (staff, room, dining, room service, etc.)
The only problem I had was the television had issues. The service staff was outstanding in responding to the issue and they were extremely courteous. Issue was resolved immediately.
Good dining choices nearby. Will definitely only stay here when I come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed 1 night in this hotel for a conference. The room was clean and well appointed. Super nice glassed in shower. There are several dining choices within comfortable walking distance in addition to hotel dining/bar. I would return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in October when we went to see President George W. Bush. I had stayed here a couple of times already this year. The second time I stayed I left my sound machine and after some begging they located it for me and I had someone pick it up. This is a very nice hotel. We love the rooftop pool and views. The rooms are very nice. I may consider staying at the Hampton across the street in the future just to compare but I do highly recommend this hotel. I will be staying again in the future.

Pros: Clean, beautiful, pool, gym, views, downtown location. Very close to restaurants (Sa Za's, Dreamland BBQ) and the Biscuits stadium.

Cons: Often VERY noisy guests, long walks to get from your car, lobby, etc. Expensive parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice facility, staff, and location. Breakfast Bar was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olemcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We needed a break and decided to spend a romantic weekend at the Renaissance. It was well worth the money. We had a lovely room with a very nice bathroom with separate tub and shower. The location was right in the middle of all the things happening in downtown, and we could walk or take the trolley to all the sites we wanted to see. The food in the restaurants was excellent, and the service was outstanding. Our only complaint is that they charged for wi-fi. Other than that, it was a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center

Property: Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Address: 201 Tallapoosa Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Montgomery, Alabama luxury hotels choose Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center. Our Montgomery, Alabama hotel's stunning architecture highlighted by modern amenities and a rooftop pool makes us a top choice for discerning guests. We are an Alabama capitol hotel situated downtown, near Maxwell Air Force Base, and we are a stylish hotel that features more than 103,000 square feet of meeting space, an 1,800-seat performing arts center, a 73,000-square-foot exhibit hall, and a 9,000-square-foot European spa. Comfort reigns supreme in each of our guest rooms featuring high-tech amenities, such as HD LCD TVs, wireless and touch screen phones, Wi-Fi, and a connectivity panel for all electronic devices. Enjoy delectable cuisine at The House restaurant in our hotel and mingle at The Exchange, our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel And Spa At The Montgomery
Montgomery Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing