We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“neat little restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's Table - CLOSED

Michael's Table
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Malone
Description: Recognized as one of Alabama"s Top 10 Dining Experiences, Michael's Table features international comfort foods and the finest wine list in the city.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“neat little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went with a large group 20+, so they closed the place for our event. They are a fixed menu, enough choice for all. I had the Grouper, excellent meal. The wine and beer selection was great. A very eclectic staff. The waitress had her section in stitches. Ours had a much more dry wit.

I would definitely recommend this place

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tasty and creative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had lunch here with some professional colleagues and it was very good. Very attentive service and a creative menu. Excellent salads! Everyone at our table was quite pleased with their meals. Interesting desserts. The key lime pie has an oreo cookie crust that is delicious. Their gelatos are unique and, while it sounds weird, the olive oil basil gelato was delicious. I'll come back the next time I'm in Montgomery.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I do a fair amount of business travel and try to visit one of the top 3 tripadvisor restaurants during each trip to a new city. I tried Michael's Table based on the good reviews it received here.

First of all, this restaurant was difficult to find. It is on the back-ish side of a strip mall "look for Zoe's Kitchen, we're behind that." Trendy Zelda Place? I don't think so. It IS a relatively new strip mall, but not trendy. The restaurant WAS trendy, though. Once seated inside, the decor was lovely.

I had a reservation for 5:30, opening time. I made the reservation on Open Table at 4:45 but the restaurant had no record. Maybe it was too short a time period for a reservation. The hostess did seat me but it almost felt like I was being accused of dishonesty because my reservation didn't show up. I made the reservation because the website insists a reservation needs to be made. The place was nearly full by 6:00, so definitely make a reservation should you decide to eat here.

I ordered soft shell crab, half and half sweet tea (half sweet, half unsweet - always do this in the south unless you like your tea uber sweet!) and for dessert the chocolate bread pudding. My dinner was okay, soft shell crab probably wasn't the way for me to go since I had never tried it before - there was an oogy factor when I bit into the shell, but the bread pudding was to die for! Rich chocolate ice cream with a slice of chocolate bread pudding! Yum!

While friendly, the staff came across as a bit pretentious. Thank you for explaining to me that gazpacho is cold tomato soup and that boeuf du jour is today's beef dish. I guess many people may not know this...

Try it once, if nothing else, for the dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Super yummy! Try it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I went hear on a friends recommendation. GREAT service. Quaint. Not crowded. Yummy, hot food. Small menu but plenty of great stuff to pick from. Best collards I have ever had. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nouveau French”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Started out as a truly innovative restaurant, but like the economy has drooped into fairly standard dishes served slowly and overpriced to boot. Disappointing for the past several months, will try again in the fall.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Table also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing