We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montgomery AL Central Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Sharon Springs NY, United States
1 review
“Montgomery AL Central Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Loved the whole experience. Was in town for our son's Air Force Commissioning. Was easy to find, clean and very friendly staff. Our rooms were perfect (two bedrooms around a central kitchen area. We were able to walk from the hotel to several fine food establishments.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    161
    100
    45
    21
See reviews for
165
78
32
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I made reservations for a 2BR suite at least 2 weeks in advance. A few days prior to arrival, I requested an early check-in. My family arrived at the hotel around 2:00 and had to sit and wait in the lobby until the 2 or 3 housekeepers on duty had time to clean our room. We were there for a wedding that began at 4:00. When the room was finally available, there was not crib for my daughters baby. I had ordered the crib 2 weeks earlier as well. When we asked for the traditional cookies, the staff appeared baffled. Worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and we’ve shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job of check-in. I did see you checked in between 2pm and 3pm. Our goal is to always fullfill our guest requests, however, we have a very limited amount of our 2 bedroom suites therefore it is difficult for us to guarantee a early check in before 3pm when the suites were used the prior night. In addition, I want to apologize for any confusion about the cookies. Other Hilton brands do have the traditional Otis Spunkmeyer cookies, however, the Doubletree by Hilton brand only serves the world famous Doubletree Chocolate Chip cookie. Again, I want to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. The next time you travel to the area, we hope that you’ll be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel certainly lived up to the high expectations that I have from Hilton properties. The only thing that I would like to see is a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. Since I only stayed overnight this was not a big issue. Had I stayed more than overnight it would have been an issue. It is strange that less expensive chains often provide microwaves and refrigerator.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 689charlesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the down town double tree for an overnight stay before a technology competition. the rooms were very nice, beds were comfortable only complaint would be no kitchen utensils for the kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiggins, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room and service was okay but the meals are pricey and below average. Stayed 4 nights. Would try somewhere else next time but if you just need a bed its okay. The restaurant staff seemed to be below par as far as customer service and in todays world if you charge over $12 bucks for breakfast it should be memorable. I have had much better for free. Overall I was disappointed but not enough to complain. The folks that worked the front counter seemed to be nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The rooms were large and clean. There was a two bedroom suite with a kitchen. That configuration is hard to find at a nice hotel. And, the rate was very reasonable. It has obviously been recently rennovated and everything looks great. Staff was courteous and I will go back. Also, it was close to the downtown nightlife.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 705walterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel was recently renovated but still appeared to be a little dated. The room and common areas appeared to be clean. It is frustrating to check in hearing that there are 15 rooms available but they are all out of government discounted rooms. I ended up paying approximately $60 more than my colleagues with my room being no different than theirs and overhearing the check in personnel stating on the phone that there were 15 empty rooms on the phone... why not accommodate a traveler that is their on business and not receiving reimbursement from their employer to stay with your colleagues that you were traveling with rather than leave 15 rooms open without any rent being paid on the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Address: 120 Madison Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104-3624 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Montgomery Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center and in close proximity to area businesses and government offices. Upon check-in, you are welcomed with a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy an onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing