We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Wonder the Parking Lot was Almost Empty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Starting with check in I had the feeling that this was not going to be a great motel. I am okay with foreign hotel workers, but it is nice when they speak English well enough to understand what I need. It took at bit, but I got checked in. The next surprise was that the door to our room was very hard to open and required a firm shoulder applied before it would give. The room was suppose to be non-smoking and was marked as such, but you could still smell the odor of cigarettes. My daughter opened the drawer in the bedside table and found out why--someone had used the drawer for an ashtray and it was full of ashes! There was also a used tissue and an empty wrapper. The bathroom mirror had what looked like a phone number written on it in soap and only half an attempt at removing it had been made. On the positive side, the beds did look fairly new and were comfortable. The tv worked as a tv should and the wifi was okay. Breakfast the next morning was a bad joke. The guy behind the desk was just finishing making a waffle when we came in, but there was no waffle batter in sight. All there was was two muffins, 5 small danish like pastries, packets of salt, small amounts of cereal and a bit of milk in a jug. This was early in the morning when most motels are well stocked for breakfast if they offer one. All around were empty places where food should have been. The drink dispenser had apple juice and something that was suppose to be orange juice, but looked more brown than orange. It was creepy the way the guy behind the desk watched us so we left and went else where for breakfast. Overall motel was poorly lit at night and felt creepy though I could tell from the rooms that attempts had been made at updating. Maybe this place will improve in the future, but I don't think I will give them another try.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardtack_n_lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

Hotel officially became a Quality Inn recently before our stay. Some renovations were still being done on the property. Friendly & helpful staff. Nice clean rooms with very comfortable beds. Conveniently located to restaurants & stores. The breakfast was not what we have experienced at other Quality Inns: very few choices & small amounts of food; food was not replenished even when we checked 30 minutes after they started serving and then 1 hour later. That was okay because there is an IHOP and Waffle House nearby. This hotel was booked through the official website for Quality Inn reservations and our confirmation sheet said we were to have a fridge and a microwave with two double beds. We only got the two double beds. The only room available with the fridge and microwave had a king size bed & was located on a side of the hotel ladies alone shouldn't stay. There were only a few people staying in the hotel; so, we didn't understand why there weren't anymore more rooms like that. For the price ($55), it was the best value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadyb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Great weekend stay! Service was wonderful. Room very nice. The breakfast hostess was a doll. Be back there in three weeks. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank nonwearytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I've stayed here 3 times already. (Out of town long distance National Guard). The service is always very cordial and friendly. When I arrive through the automatic sliding doors, I get a very friendly greeting. Rooms have access from the outside, 2 floors. Amount of available parking depends upon what side of building you stay. 2 handicapped parking areas on South side in corner take up extra room. Check in, take a shower, eat, come back early or walk a little bit more to get back to your room later. Parking spot in front of room will now be occupied. First two times here were in a double room, and this last time was a kingsize room with sleeperbed couch and small coffee table. All 3 were spotless. Dehumidifiers are too noisy for me so I turn them off. The big pillows on the beds were fluffy, sheets were soft and the room was clean--the showers have one of those adjustable shower heads which was a nice extra touch. 4 big fluffy towels. Hair dryer, mirrored closet doors, ironing board, iron, 2 extra blankets, a laundry/dry cleaning bag, ice bucket, small 4 cup coffee pot in room with your choice of regular or decaf coffee filter bag packets, plus sugar/creamer pack. Large TV in room with over 30 channels. No microwave or small fridge. Bummer ! High speed internet works well, codes obtained at front desk on slip of paper, usually in the 11Mbps range. Laptop desk pillow in room. Wake-up calls have been promptly made. There is 24/7 coffee and other drinks in the lobby, with about 8 or 9 small tables in the dining area. Large TV on CNN in morning. In the room behind breakfast area is a business room with desktop computer and printer, but it is unusually slow, like it's an older computer. The best thing is the breakfast--a great selection of everything--three kinds of juices, decaf or robust or regular coffee, creamers in hazelnut-french vanilla-half&half, cocoa, tea, fresh biscuits, eggs, they serve either sausage gravy, sausage patties or round ham slices, lots of different pastries, english muffins, bagels, cream cheese, jellies, butter, a variety of donuts, small variety of cereal, skim or 2% milk is in the glassdoor cooler, fresh fruit as either a fruit chunk salad or bananas, small variety of yogurts, and lots of other little items. Haven't been able to use the pool yet, being Spring you know. Restaurants and stores within walking distance, but take the car anyway. Busy intersections during the rush hours. Hampton Inn sign up too high and dark, but the Raceway gas station sign is easy to find at the stoplight where you'ld turn at from the Interstate85 Exit 6 area. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tallman6-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

I routinely travel and stay at Hampton Inns but this isn't a Hampton Inn quality--it's more akin to the Bates Hotel. The phone did not work--no wake-up call; and a bundle of wires behind the night stand that led to who knows where. The carpet was dirty, a lamp didn't work, and the furniture finish was worn off of the night stand and desk edges. There was only one accessible outlet. When I unplugged the next morning, the outlet came out of the wall. Despite a "Do Not Disturb" sign, the house keeper knocked on the door at 1000 to ask when we were checking out. For only the second time in approximately 6-years, I claimed the 100% satisfaction guarantee for the night. Do yourself a favor, pay the extra money and stay down the road at the East Chase Hampton Inn --it's worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wolfpack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Dirty carpets, stains, dingy bed covers...
Not to better then the next door to "Weekly" low end motel.

Security is a concern, guard patrol property all night.
Suggest staying near East Chase area, this area is questionable at best..

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Egor127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

This hotel was nice with clean rooms. Upon entering the room, there was a nice fragrant smell. The lighting was great and better than any hotel room I had stayed in. Although I do not usually prefer hotels with outside rooms, this was okay and we could park near our room. We paid $81 a night which I think was a good deal. The room itself was a little small, but didn't mind since there was only 2 of us with a king room with sofa.
We enjoyed the variety of tv channels. This was also better than any previous place we've stayed. We were there for a football game, so we did not spend a lot of time in the room during the day. The hotel is worth staying in for the hot breakfast bar. Although this hotel seems a bit older than most Hampton Inns I've visited, I would stay here again. Also, very friendly & courteous staff.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shoppergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#43 of 72 in Montgomery
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Alabama Hotel
The Alabama Hotel
#33 of 72 in Montgomery
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
0.4 mi away
Montgomery Inn & Suites
Montgomery Inn & Suites
#20 of 72 in Montgomery
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Value Place Montgomery
Value Place Montgomery
#35 of 72 in Montgomery
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1401 Eastern Blvd, Montgomery, AL 36117-1603 (Formerly Montgomery Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range: $48 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Montgomery Alabama hotel - Quality Inn & Suites near Troy University. The Quality Inn & SuitesTM hotel is centrally located and is four miles from Troy University-Montgomery Campus. This Alabama hotel is minutes from local points of interest like the Montgomery Zoo, the Garrett Coliseum and the Eastdale Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing