We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing, but they allow pets.”
Review of The Alabama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alabama Hotel
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was close to Alabama Shakespeare Festival. The staff who checked us in the first night were polite and kind. The first room we got looked great however in the first twenty min i saw two cockroaches and the AC wouldnt start they moved us to a second room which was decent.
Despite the signs stating parties were not allowed and it you was a non smoking hotel the second floor smelled like Marijuana.
The water in the shower didn't get very hot and the water pressure was low.
The ice machine would be turned off at least twice a day.
Breakfast was weak coffee with apple or orange juice miniature danishes mini muffins biscuits and bread all frozen the cereal had frozen milk as well they ran a sink of hot water to thaw the milk.

Several staff were less than friendly one lady even raised her voice at me and scolded me about having a dog my dog weighs fifteen pounds and the first thing i said when calling to book the room was "do you allow pets I have a small dog"

Housekeeping was done by three people a couple who were very polite and pleasant and another woman who gave me a difficult time and wrote my room number down when I asked for shampoo! Sorry I have long hair!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazamalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 166 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel entrance was beautiful, you get a very peaceful fill from it. The staff and customer service is excellent. The rooms were very clean, house keeping comes every day and is very accommodating. They were very helpful and went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I guess it was OK for the price but it wasn't exactly what I was expecting. I wouldn't stay there again. There are a couple more hotels that i have been to that aren't much more expensive for jacuzzi suits in Montgomery but are much more nice!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The first room they put us in had a disassembled, non-functioning smoke alarm. The bathroom had a wall full of mold. We asked for a new room. Although this one was better it smelled of stale smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The toilet in the bathroom was not bolted to the floor and almost tipped over. The bed was more like a hammock than a king sized bed as it sagged so much in the middle. It appeared to be freshly painted but you could see in the bathroom that they painted over mold. There was so much paint splatter in all rooms that it looked like they let a bunch of five-year-olds loose with paintbrushes and rollers. The TV was new, but the cable to it was run from across the room and up over the bathroom door, all exposed. The water in the outdoor pool outside the window was pea green. You could see daylight around the entry door to the room. It was very noisy with the open atrium.

The price of the room was cheap, but the hotel is a train wreck. Run Away!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel was very beautiful. I love the entrance of the hotel. The very beautiful trees. Customer service was amazing. They were very friendly, helpful, and respectful. Rooms and prices were good. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kandii2sweet4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here the first weekend in May for the first time, recommended by a friend in the area. The place has a lovely, classical atmosphere! The lobby is beautiful and the front desk associate was really nice. I got a jacuzzi suite on the top floor! The room was very spacious and clean. And the jacuzzi was really fun too! I enjoyed my weekend stay there. I felt like the price was well worth it. I'll definitely be coming back! I'd recommend it! :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
6  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

My stay at Alabama Hotel was great. The big suite was very beautiful and the hotel had such a warm welcoming effect. Staff were great and they offered free continental breakfast! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Well worth the money!

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Shauntrel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#43 of 72 in Montgomery
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alabama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alabama Hotel

Address: 5924 Monticello Dr, East Montgomery (Exit 6 on I-85), Montgomery, AL 36117-1939
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: $58 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alabama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alabama Hotel ~ The Beautiful is situated very close to Montgomery Alabama DownTown, East Chase & Chantilly Parkway, Faulkner University,Auburn University - Montgomery AUM campus, Alabama State University and fortis College & Virginia College ! Alabama Hotel is "All Suite Hotel" which provides Free High Speed Internet, Continental Breakfast and Safe Environment whether you are travelling on Business and leisure. A Southern Hospitality HeadQuarter - Alabama Hotel~ The Beautiful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alabama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montgomery
Montgomery Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing