We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel at a great price!!”
Review of The Alabama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alabama Hotel
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Reviewed August 2, 2013

the front desk staff are very nice and attentive. I had the jacuzzi suite and it was amazing. It was just as nice as these more expensive hotels, but for a better price. The room was clean and very spacious, it had a living room with a flat screen on the wall and another one in the bedroom. It is definitely one of the best hotels in Montgomery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlabamaHotel, Manager at The Alabama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest, We are happy to know that you found value of your dollar you spent at Alabama Hotel.
We appreciate your business and looking forward to see you all back at Alabama Hotel. Believe Us, Our Sccess can not be spelled with out "U"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The guy at the front desk named Joy was amazing! Our room was clean and so huge, it was like having two rooms. We had two flat screen tvs and an awesome jacuzzi! While in town, eating at the fried Tomato is a must!!! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Right off the 85, it is a dream to come to this place after a long drive. Vin was amazingly friendly and very welcoming.. Room is big and you feel like you have space to put things and move around. A sitting area, a desk as well as the bed, very roomy for 2 people, I even thing the sofa is a sofa bed. I recommend this place for travellers :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sabrina1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

as a traveling contractor I have stayed at numerous hotels some good and some not so good. but I have never experienced such service and large rooms as I have at the Alabama Hotel Montgomery. the staff has accommodated me and every request that I have made helping me keep my business flowing by making copies of documents and fax is anything that I have asked I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be staying at this hotel everytime I'm in the Montgomery area

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank didyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel staff is extremely courteous and very professional. The rooms are large and clean. When you walk in you immediately feel like you're at home. The large suites give you room to move. I've stayed at other hotels in the area and none can compare to The Alabama Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cadesdad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

First I was double charged for the room, then the rep realized that he over charged me then gave me the double charged amount back in cash, he then tried to sell me the upgraded suite in a used car salesman manner. I was then called on the phone to tell me that they accidentally realized that they meant to keep the amount they gave me because they were t sure they charged me the right amount. Oh no it doesn't stop there, at 11 at night they banged on my door for a good 15 mins waking me out of my sleep to collect the amount they over charged me! Oh ya lets not forget the clogged tub I tried to take a shower in, the maintenance guy came with a dirty plunger and attempted to clear the tub (he didn't ) he left a large amount of residue(fecal matter) in the tub! 2 days later I checked my bank statements and yes in fact I was double charged for the room and still trying to resolve as we speak!!!! Never again!!!! SMH

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatgrits101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Old buildings can be attractive if well maintained. The entrance to this hotel has a nice garden with a fountain and the appearance of a once well kept business. Upon entering the room, it had a "smell" that was not pleasant, the lighting was very poor, the coffee pot did not work, there was no clock, ironing board but no iron and the wi-fi was no good. Being a suite made it tolerable but definitely needs an upgrade! The continental breakfast was ok but the tables and the floor was dirty all the way to the front desk. It wasn't like they were over crowded..just a don't care attitude. The staff was nice and it was quiet and they even sent us a thank you note for staying there. It was bascially a place to spend the night ..no frills and reasonably priced. I just prefer a little more "class" than the basic motel 6 or 8.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bertha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#43 of 72 in Montgomery
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alabama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alabama Hotel

Address: 5924 Monticello Dr, East Montgomery (Exit 6 on I-85), Montgomery, AL 36117-1939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: $58 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alabama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alabama Hotel ~ The Beautiful is situated very close to Montgomery Alabama DownTown, East Chase & Chantilly Parkway, Faulkner University,Auburn University - Montgomery AUM campus, Alabama State University and fortis College & Virginia College ! Alabama Hotel is "All Suite Hotel" which provides Free High Speed Internet, Continental Breakfast and Safe Environment whether you are travelling on Business and leisure. A Southern Hospitality HeadQuarter - Alabama Hotel~ The Beautiful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alabama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montgomery
Montgomery Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing