We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Dirty Rooms - I guess that's why it's cheap.”
Review of Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Inn
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service, Dirty Rooms - I guess that's why it's cheap.”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Starting with a flippant, could-care-less attitude from the front desk clerk to the dirty, poorly-cleaned rooms, this place is a 'never again' for us. Far, far off from LaQuinta standards (and we probably stay at LaQuinta's at least 15 - 20 nights a year - maybe more). Maybe they have to settle for poor quality employees in this area, but now that I know this, I'll stay elsewhere. Saving a few bucks isn't worth putting up with front desk personnel that treat you like you're a big inconvenience to them, or maids/housekeepers that apparently don't know the meaning of clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turninghawk925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    77
    69
    42
    42
See reviews for
113
65
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed here for a night during a recent road trip and was really delighted with the place. It was super affordable, so I waited until I could look at the rooms in person before booking. It was located right off the freeway, but I didn't notice the noise in the room. Everything was clean and it nicely furnished - I was surprised actually at how nicely furnished it was.

The staff member I checked in with was really helpful. He printed out directions for me to get around town with, which is pretty standard but I didn't necessarily expect that from such a budget place. They had a pool that was very busy with families. When I checked out the woman working at the desk was very friendly and helped point me in the right direction for the rest of my road trip.

All in all, a really great deal for a very comfortable room! Oh, and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeDigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

New furniture, excellent linens with an actual duvet! Flat screen TV, foyer-like entry with laminate flooring, nice carpet... really an excellent buy for the money! Only two problems: toilet/tub area is VERY small and the plug next to the sink did not work. Therefore, the hair dryer did not work. But all in all, a really great stay! Hubby was in Montgomery for school, so I tagged along. If you have time, explore downtown Montgomery's riverwalk and the Hank Williams Museum! Oh, and the hotel is just across the parking lot from another LaQuina... sort of confusing. Staff at the other hotel were very helpful, though, and told us how to get to the other LaQuina. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is not the best place to stay if you want to sleep or swim in the pool. The pool was scummy and they didn't stop people from keeping others up till 4 a.m. The air dripped all night and soaked the floor. There was nasty sweaty drug money hidden in the coffee maker and boxers behind the toilet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frisky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham. AL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

If you see a motel with a rate of less than $40 in this day and age, particularly with a large event nearby, you'd probably be more than a little leery. I was, but I knew from personal experience that this La Quinta had undergone a major renovation, because I had tried to stay there for the same event last year - and it was closed because of flooding. So knowing that this property had a recent makeover and that it was a major chain, I took a chance - and it worked out very well.

The room was very clean, and the beds were as comfortable as I have had in any hotel. We arrived early, and I had my older mom with me, so they put us in a handicapped access room. That was a plus, as the shower had a hand-held shower head on it - nice.

Downsides: Sound insulation was poor - we could hear anything that anyone walking by said. The breakfast selection was mediocre at best, but for what you save on the room, you could hit the breakfast buffet at Shoney's two blocks away.

A Shogun Japanese restaurant is next door, a Denny's is next to it and a Waffle House is across the street. Numerous other restaurants are within a three-block radius.

I've paid a lot more for a lot worse. This was a great deal. I will be back.

(Note: There are two La Quinta Inns next door to each other. This is the one styled like the original La Qunitas in the Spanish Mission style. The other is a former Baymont/Budgetel property that La Qunita got in the Baymont purchase a few years ago. Both of these properties are operated by the same franchisee.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realkyhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel looks freshly renovated. From the flat screen TV, to the pillow top mattress, everything was great!

This LaQuinta is right next door to the other one - but I got this one for $35 per night with AAA. What a steal!!!! This LaQuinta has outside corredors - which I usually do not like when I travel alone. However the parking lot is very well lit, and I felt safe. Even though my room faced the busy street - I never heard any noise.

For dog owners - take a room on the road side as the grass is right across the parking lot. The other Laquinta has less grass and interior corredors.

Some mornings the breakfast area was packed and other mornings I was the only one there. The milk is in individual boxes, which made it easier to take back to the room. Off brand cereal in the prepackaged bowl, toast, individual wrapped muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, a machine with orange juice and apple juice and a large bowl of fresh banannas and oranges. So a basic breakfast.

Shower was great, they have thin towels but for the bargan price I paid I did not care. Coffee maker and ironing board in room. One morning the maid had forgotten to replentish the coffee, the front desk staff appologized and gave me 2 packets.

The only problems I saw was that its spring and there is a ton of pollen and leaves in the air and they were in the pool. I wasn't there to use the pool so didn't bother me a bit. And one coke machine was out of order - but again no problem for me.

Really great service, great rooms and for the price a steal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatcoatfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Our room was ok, some friends had stained sheets on their beds, one had a very smelly room, they left the door open for a time to air the room out. The reception area houses the breakfast area, our advice is get there early as its only very small. A few tables and chairs, Hot coffee and cold buffet breakfast. Hard bolied eggs, yoghurt and selection of cereals and danish pastries. The hotel complex is over two floors with two lifts and plenty of stairs for guests to use. Over the road is a filling station and a waffle house right next door for something to eat. Each room has coffee making facilities and iron and ironing board & hairdryer. Recommended for an overnight stay on your way norht or south.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgjymckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#40 of 72 in Montgomery
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alabama Hotel
The Alabama Hotel
#36 of 72 in Montgomery
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
0.2 mi away
Montgomery Inn & Suites
Montgomery Inn & Suites
#32 of 72 in Montgomery
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#57 of 72 in Montgomery
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn

Property: Garden Inn
Address: 1280 Eastern Blvd, Montgomery, AL 36117-1621 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Montgomery Eastern Bypass)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the SureStay℠ Hotel Montgomery near Downtown, Alabama Shakespeare Festival and the Montgomery Zoo is a simply stylish sanctuary designed for a happy nights sleep. Enjoy a relaxing day of shopping at The Shoppes at EastChase where we have some of the finest southern restaurants. Hurry and book your upcoming stay at the SureStay℠ Hotel Montgomery where it is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Montgomery
Montgomery La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing