We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of southern hospitality”
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Bluff Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The definition of southern hospitality”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of our tour through the states and were hoping to experience famous southern hospitality- boy were we in for a treat! Bonnie and Barry truly enjoy looking after their guests and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montgomery.

The house itself is charming and quaint making it feel like the perfect homely getaway. This is complimented further by cute touches such as jars of sweets, a guest fridge of drinks and snacks, little make up remover pads and even monogrammed toilet paper! Such touches really made our day as we'd been on the road for quite some time. Its upside down design meant no heaving our bags upstairs- why don't more guest houses think of this! In addition to our lovely room, the upstairs lounge was lovely to relax in and we were encouraged to kick back and indulge in its extensive DVD collection. The deck was also a great spot to sit and watch the sunset from. All this and wifi throughout. Can't fault it.

Location wise it's in a quiet residential area just a short walk from downtown. Each room had a large leather bound folder they'd put together full of maps, restaurant and attractions. It even had a history of the place! This was a treasure if information and very comprehensive.

And of course, the breakfasts. Bonnie is a wonderful cook and treated us to a wonderful selection of offerings each morning. Her blueberry pancakes were out of this world and it's no wonder they are on the top 100 things to eat in alabama before you die!

Bonnie and Barry, throughout our stay the two of you truly made us feel like family and when you're 3000 miles away from home, this was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWelshBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    34
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
220
30
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at the Red Bluff Cottage while attending a conference in Montgomery. After intensely long days, it was such a delight to come 'Home' to a beautifully decorated, comfortable oasis and enjoy the generous hospitality of the hosts. They really do go above and beyond expectations to provide a unique experience for each guest.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Riverboat room. It was perfect....comfortable, quiet, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We only had 2 days but no matter how many days you have you can't do better than Red Bluff. If you visit Montgomery plan to stay with Barry and Bonnie. They are the hosts with the most. Every detail is covered. You want for nothing. 5 star rating. The home was beautiful also. What a breakfast, WOW.

Jim and Angela

Room Tip: Any room. You won't be disappointed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I needed a place to stay in Montgomery during a road trip in the USA and this B&B fitted the bill perfectly. We loved the period architecture and it was only a short walk downtown. Spotlessly clean and all the beautiful soft furnishings made it very comfortable indeed. Amazing breakfast! No smoking inside but ok on the balcony. No charge for parking on site. Wi-fi. En suite private bath/shower. The hosts were very polite and accommodating. We have no hesitation in recommending Red Bluff Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_UK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a 1st time experience @ a B&B for my husband and I. It was our anniversary weekend and beginning of vacation week. We stayed for the weekend and it was an awesome experience. it was very quiet, relaxing and serene. Bonnie & Barry were like adoptive parents. We stayed for the weekend and attended church with them on Sunday morning. It was a wonderful experience. Really felt like it was home away from home. Enjoyed not having TV in bedroom. We were really able to enjoy each others company and do a lot of communicating! Bonnie is lovely and Barry is full of jokes....Loved every minute of it. It really set the tone for an awesome vacation week.

Room Tip: The Great Gatsby room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were only there for one night but Bonnie & Barry made us feel so special. First let me say that we needed to change our reservations and they were more than happy to help us out. We ask them for a dinner recommendation and while they did make a recommendation they did one better. They joined us and on the way there they played tour guide and showed us the local sites. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was Awesome! The next time we are in Montgomery we will be staying at the Red Bluff Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Va
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Red Bluff Cottage's motto is arrive as a "guest leave as a friend". Absolutely true ! Bonnie & Barry are truly accomodating, hospitable, kind & caring. We thoroughly enjoyed our total visit to Montgomery. Everyone we encountered was so friendly and helpful. Bonnie is a true southern hostess, and her breakfast was marvelous. We were delighted with a beautiful bedroom of personal memorabilia. Although just passing through I felt like we were family. Hope to pass through again --Thank you

Room Tip: We loved the room "A Stitch in Time" -- quiet and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueVirginiaBeach_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Property: Red Bluff Cottage
Address: 551 Clay St, Montgomery, AL 36104-3366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing