We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Best"”
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Bluff Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We only had 2 days but no matter how many days you have you can't do better than Red Bluff. If you visit Montgomery plan to stay with Barry and Bonnie. They are the hosts with the most. Every detail is covered. You want for nothing. 5 star rating. The home was beautiful also. What a breakfast, WOW.

Jim and Angela

Room Tip: Any room. You won't be disappointed,
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Red Bluff Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 401 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I needed a place to stay in Montgomery during a road trip in the USA and this B&B fitted the bill perfectly. We loved the period architecture and it was only a short walk downtown. Spotlessly clean and all the beautiful soft furnishings made it very comfortable indeed. Amazing breakfast! No smoking inside but ok on the balcony. No charge for parking on site. Wi-fi. En suite private bath/shower. The hosts were very polite and accommodating. We have no hesitation in recommending Red Bluff Cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_UK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a 1st time experience @ a B&B for my husband and I. It was our anniversary weekend and beginning of vacation week. We stayed for the weekend and it was an awesome experience. it was very quiet, relaxing and serene. Bonnie & Barry were like adoptive parents. We stayed for the weekend and attended church with them on Sunday morning. It was a wonderful experience. Really felt like it was home away from home. Enjoyed not having TV in bedroom. We were really able to enjoy each others company and do a lot of communicating! Bonnie is lovely and Barry is full of jokes....Loved every minute of it. It really set the tone for an awesome vacation week.

Room Tip: The Great Gatsby room is awesome!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were only there for one night but Bonnie & Barry made us feel so special. First let me say that we needed to change our reservations and they were more than happy to help us out. We ask them for a dinner recommendation and while they did make a recommendation they did one better. They joined us and on the way there they played tour guide and showed us the local sites. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was Awesome! The next time we are in Montgomery we will be staying at the Red Bluff Cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Red Bluff Cottage's motto is arrive as a "guest leave as a friend". Absolutely true ! Bonnie & Barry are truly accomodating, hospitable, kind & caring. We thoroughly enjoyed our total visit to Montgomery. Everyone we encountered was so friendly and helpful. Bonnie is a true southern hostess, and her breakfast was marvelous. We were delighted with a beautiful bedroom of personal memorabilia. Although just passing through I felt like we were family. Hope to pass through again --Thank you

Room Tip: We loved the room "A Stitch in Time" -- quiet and extremely comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueVirginiaBeach_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A disturbing trend for B&Bs is to be more about Business & Bucks than Bed & Breakfast. Well, Bonnie & Barry are old school. They live on the property and treat there guests like ..... guests in their home. Lovely hospitality. Thought-filled and gracious breakfast experience. Very clean and fresh experience.

No in-room TVs, which was nice. But if you need to watch, there is one on the second floor, which is open and welcoming to guests. Better yet, sit on the balcony or the gazebo and listen to the birds!

Thanks

Room Tip: All nice, in the four corners of the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights to play golf on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The golf was great and the stay at Red Bluff Cottage was even better. Excellent accommodations. You could tell the owners loved running this business.(Which seemed more like staying at a friend's home). We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay St, Montgomery, AL 36104-3366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: $126 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing