We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Bluff Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here with a friend during our trip to America and the stay was great. The B and B is in a beautiful building, nicely decorated throughout and very clean. There was complimentary water and soft drinks, and jars of sweets all around and a snack bowl which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was freshly cooked every day, and each day was something different which I've never seen in a B and B before. Barry and Bonnie couldn't do enough for us - they even picked us up and dropped us off at the Greyhound station which was great because it was quite a way from the B and B! Overall, I would highly recommend!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 405 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place with wonderful clean and comfortable rooms, great welcome from Bonnie and Barry and a very different breakfast which we really enjoyed.
Would recommend without hesitation.
The location is well within walking distance of Montgomery attractions.

Room Tip: We had a stitch in time, it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here on our trip to Montgomery. Barry and Bonnie seem nice and the inn and breakfast are fine. The coffee creamer was curdled and when I told Barry he said he was fix it but the next morning my coffee was again ruined with bad creamer. Also, there are tips jars prominately displayed in the rooms for you to tip for tidying up the room. I have stayed at many b&bs and have never seen this before. I found it in poor taste.

If you aren't a christian or have any problems with forced prayer, be warned, the innkeepers require that a prayer is said before anyone eats breakfast. We were not expecting this and felt a little dooped about not having been told about their custom prior to paying to stay there. However, I like to respect other people's belief even if they don't respect mine and bowed my head as they expected. Also, the last morning we were there, Bonnie made some highly offensive and racist comments about african americans at the breakfast table. We left immediately to avoid hearing any further discussion of the topic. I was extremely distraught when I left their inn that morning and quite frankly it ruined my trip and impression of Montgomery. I guess some things about the south haven't changed. .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Guest49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedBluffBNB, Owner at Red Bluff Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Every guest is important to us and we appreciate every guest’s comments.

Even though we have been in the business for 11 years, we can still improve the way we do things.

We are sorry there was a problem with the little “Mini-Moos” creamer cups. Sometimes we get a bad cup and so sorry that a 2nd cup was also bad. I think this has happened to every coffee drinker at one time or another. We removed and replaced our supply later that day.

As far as tip jars in the bedrooms … there is no such thing in the rooms. We do have a little framed note saying gratuities are appreciated. We do not have tip jars in the rooms.

We do not force our guests to pray with us. We have a tradition of giving thanks for the guests sent to us and the food we serve our guests. We also ask for the blessing of safe travel for our guests when they leave. I do not understand why it would be objectionable to pray for someone's safe travel.

About Bonnie’s statements, I do not recall such comments being made. It is hard to remember every discussion at the breakfast table. There was probably a general discussion about the direction the country is headed with more and more people having to depend on the government. And we understand that this includes Americans of all races. Maybe there were misinterpretations or poor assumptions made. Either way, we are sorry this happened to this guest.

I guess, no matter how hard we try to do our best, the old saying stands true, “You cannot please all the people all the time.” But we will keep trying!

In closing, Montgomery is a wonderful place to live and visit. It offers friendly people, delicious food, interesting history, the outstanding ASF Theatre, challenging RTJ golf, exciting Biscuits Baseball, an exceptional zoo, a riverboat with entertainment, and a beautiful river walk; just to mention a few reasons to visit. We love living in “The South.” We feel it is the best place to live in this great country, the good ole’ USA.

Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We weren't too sure when we arrived since the first thing the host told us was that his wife Bonnie was out of town and he was on his own. Truth be told he did an excellent job all by himself, we never had any doubts.
It was an excellent choice for Montgomery just far enough from downtown to make it a bit of a walk but not far enough to make us want to take the car. Our room was on the main floor and was extremely clean with beautiful linens. There was a mini bar filled with water and pop which Barry made sure to tell us about, as well as candy jars throughout the house. Sorry about the M&M jar out side our door, I'm sure it needed to be refilled. Breakfast was hot, plentiful and artfully plated. A real shame Barry did not sit to breakfast with us (something we've seen in other B&Bs on our travels). Overall a fantastic stay with a fantastic host, Fairmont standards for sure Barry!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We didn't meet Bonnie as she was away when we stayed, but Barry was a great host who made us very welcome.
The place was very comfortable and clean and Barry made us an excellent breakfast.
He even picked us up from downtown after we had eaten that evening. Very kind.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our recent visit to Red Bluff B&B was delightful. Bonnie and Barry are wonderful hosts and go above and beyond to make guests feel at home. The location is very near Montgomery attractions. The large bedroom and bathroom were extremely clean and comfortable. We highly recommend Red Bluff B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohioan676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

In mid September we had the pleasure of staying at the Red Bluff Cottage. It is a delightful “upside down house” purposely built with the bedrooms on the ground floor and the kitchen, dining room and living areas upstairs…so that overnight guests don’t have to haul their luggage up the stairs. Barry & Bonnie went out of their way to be accommodating ,made us feel very much at home, cooked us a wonderful breakfast and to sum it up…we truly enjoyed the pleasure of being their company.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie8213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Montgomery - EastChase
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay St, Montgomery, AL 36104-3366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: $123 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing