We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Bluff Cottage is as good as it gets!”
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Bluff Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

What a lovely B & B in Montgomery, AL! Barry and Bonnie make you feel like a friend from the moment you arrive. It is impeccably decorated and anything you could possibly need is ready for you. It is conveniently located in a lovely area close to downtown and the interstate. The best feature is that it was built for a B & B....bedrooms are downstairs so luggage does not have to be carried upstairs. The breakfast was wonderful and it is top notch in all respects. It was a great stay on our way to the Gulf.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjkruper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Red Bluff Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 402 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We found Red Bluff Cottage on the web while looking for an alternative to the host hotel for the convention we were attending in Montgomery. Red Bluff Cottage was a delightful alternative. We felt like we were staying with friends. Bonnie and Barry were warm and friendly hosts. We were on a long vacation trip with a ridiculous amount of clothes and luggage, and I lost track how many trips Barry made helpin gus in and out with our bags and such. The house was nicely decorated and our room was very comfortable, as were the common areas. Bonnie sets a lovely table, and we were served a delicious, gourmet breakfast that was different each of the four days of our stay. The B&B was very close to the downtown area where our convention was held, yet the location was secluded and quiet. We'd definitely return to RBC should we return to Montgomery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TConerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at Bonnie and Barry Ponstein's B&B for 10 days. It was the most perfect accommopdation we could have. The family style care and and hospitality cannot be overrated. Bonnie and Barry tried their best to make their B&B our home during the 10 nights my wife and I stayed there when I was on a business trip to Maxwell AFB. We would surely book again there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwploeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Celebrated my 50something birthday with a wild production of MENOPAUSE, THE MUSICAL and a calming stay at Red Bluff. Barry and Bonnie accommodated our early departure time --Yikes! 6:30 AM breakfast-- with grace and abundance. Barry conducted the tea service...perfectly: heated the pot with a hot water "soak," coraled the loose leaves in a bag, emptied the heated pot, refilled with water and bag, and steeped for exactly 5 minutes. Perfect brew to accompany eggs, shredded potatoes, toast, fruit, and juice. Our regret was that we couldn't lounge until check out time!

We watched the rain from the long front porch and chatted in the sitting room with the perfect cup of tea and coffee provided by the new Krueger machine. Our Rose Room was directly across from the snacks and mini-fridge. How perfect is that?

My friend and I shall return for some needed R&R regardless of the play schedule at the Shakespeare Festival. Bonnie and Barry are the most solicitous of hosts. They truly invite their guests into the heart of their lovely home.

Room Tip: The Rose Room with Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa is closest to the snack area and farthest from t...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonschmelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Great Gatsby Room for the first few nights of our honeymoon. I couldn't have asked for a better stay - Bonnie and Barry are charming. They are eager to meet all needs, and are super personable. Bonnie's egg souffle is delicious - breakfast is not to be missed! The bed was huge and feather-soft. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a great time at this B&B but a few things drove me crazy. We sat out on the upper veranda at night and because they don't have a keypad lock on this door the hosts had stay up until we were ready to come in. I didn't get to sit out as long as I would have liked because I felt that I was making them stay up late. Also when we came in one night one of the host's was watching tv in the guests lounge area and not in their own room. We wanted to watch the news but felt like we were imposing. The food is fabulous and the presentation is out of this world. We were in a bit of a rush to get on with our day but one of the hosts sat down at the table with us and just kept talking so we had a hard time getting out in the mornings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank CynScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

As part of a 2 months self drive tour of the south east of U S A we stayed two nights at Red Bluff and couldn't have made a better choice. Bonnie and Barrie were perfect hosts and the b and b they run so professionally is excellent. The house is not only quite beautiful but also very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts we had were superb. It is well situated close to the centre of Montgomery and has ample parking. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of our stay at Red Bluff and without hesitation can recommend it to others.
Ron and Jennie Cross Brisbane Australia

Room Tip: we had the benefit of a ground floor room which m
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay St, Montgomery, AL 36104-3366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: $126 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing