We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!”
Review of The Lattice Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lattice Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was my second visit to The Lattice Inn. What a fantastic place! Jim, the innkeeper, is extremely friendly without being overbearing. The room is amazingly comfortable and the outdoor hot tub is fantastic on a cloudless cool Montgomery night. Great alternative to chain hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinahDoLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for The Lattice Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 323 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my second visit to this welcoming and hospitable B & B. Jim, the owner and innkeeper, lives onsite and has an uncanny ability to anticipate your every need without being obtrusive. He welcomes you like an old friend. This inn is an oasis in the South and that's evidenced by the guestbook signed by guests from all over the world. The rooms are extremely comfortable and very reasonably priced. You owe it to yourself to visit Montgomery at least once in your life. I recommend the Fitzgerald House for anyone interested in American literature and history. Of course, there are many civil rights attractions. Yes, there is even fine dining in Montgomery!! Jim can point you to all the right places. I've only stayed in the Sandpiper Suite and like the option of both a shower and separate clawfoot tub.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthevortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This was my partner and I's second stay. We were not disappointed at all. We arrived in our room to see our names spelled out for "Welcome" over the fireplaace.
We received outstanding hospitality, just like we did on our first trip. The innkeeper truly has the hospitality business down.
We enjoyed our wonderful king size bed after hitting the hot tub. Our room was spacious and you even have both a choice of a shower or a bath in the old fashioned claw foot tub with bath salts available if you like. This was my partner and I's second stay also in the Sandpiper suite.
If you are in Montgomery, don't miss a chance to stay at the Lattice Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were very pleased to find The Lattice Inn on our way to Florida. We stayed on our way to and back from Florida. Jim is a gracious host. The rooms were very nice, the beds were the most comfortable that we slept in during our entire trip and breakfast was lovely. You cannot stay at a better place in Montgomery.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwjarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Lattice B&B is in the Garden District of Montgomery which sounds lovely and I am sure it was at one time. After our breakfast (no hot food, only cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, muffins, fruit yogurts and some fresh fruit, hardly B&B food) we walked a bit of the Garden District. Jim, our B&B host, kindly routed us around the neighborhood to avoid some bad areas but to include walking past the Governors Mansion. The homes in this once lovely area were mostly in need of repair or maintenance. Grass was growing through the uneven sidewalks throughout most of the Garden District. A half marathon was under way as we approached the grand Governor's Mansion (no grass on these sidewalks) causing us great difficulty driving into town to make our 10AM tour of the Dexter Memorial King Baptist Church.
When we returned to the funky B&B we had a different view of the home with its overgrown garden and sad looking wicker on the sagging front porch but once inside we were again transported to the charm of the tastefully appointed rooms with two front parlors, one with mission furniture and the other a mixed use room with a piano, computer and comfortable seating, a definite contrast to the outside world. Jim proved to be a thoughtful and gracious host during our stay doing whatever he could to make our visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatticeInnkeeper, Owner at The Lattice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Kelley - Thanks for sharing your impression of your visit with us here on Tripadvisor! I'm sorry that you found a few things not up to your expectations when you were our guest in October of 2012...you caught our front yard in a transitional state...the Knockout Roses were nearing the end of their blooming season and a pruning was soon to come. As for the sad looking wicker chair, that was rescued from a trash heap and is re-purposed as an umbrella stand and/or holder for a pot of ferns. I'm not sure what you meant by the "sagging front porch" (it does slope a bit to aid in the run-off of rain water), otherwise for a structure that is 107 years old, a bit of sagging here and there is to be expected! ;-) In any event, I'm glad that we had an opportunity to host your visit to Montgomery and that you'll come again soon before I "retire again" and move on to the next chapter in my life.

Jim Yeaman, Owner/Innkeeper
The Lattice Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A perfect evening in Montgomery is to return to the Lattice Inn in the late afternoon, take a nap in the gorgeous big bed, sit on the front porch or use the pool. Have a glass of wine by the fire if it's cool. Or take a walk around the block or neighborhood of wonderful old homes. Listen to your host, Jim tell you all about the history of Montgomery and its famous citizens past and present. Then let him recommend a restaurant--our favorite was Sinclair's in a restored gas station in Old Cloverdale a few blocks away. We want to return!

Frank Maguire

Room Tip: At this point I have stayed in both rooms and both are roomy with high ceilings and big baths--very...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Lattice Inn is the only place to stay in Montgomery! What a relaxing, charming atmosphere! Jim makes everyone feel right at home. The bed is super-comfortable and breakfast was a delight. The room was spacious and so very-well appointed. The Inn has especially easy parking and easy to find!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagotraveler057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
8.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lattice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lattice Inn

Address: 1414 S Hull St, Montgomery, AL 36104-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: $132 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lattice Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lattice Inn is an award-winning and unique bed and breakfast nestled in the heart of Montgomery's historic Garden District, near the Governor's Mansion, and the intersection of I-65 and I-85, Since 1993, The Lattice Inn has provided an exceptional lodging experience in a tastefully updated 1906-era cottage. Guest suites feature free Wi-Fi, HDTV with AppleTV, fridge, microwave, DVD/CD player, MP3/iPod docking clock radio, hair dryer, and king-size bed. Other amenities include a business center, Koi pond, intimate garden areas, and a salt water pool (May- September). Guests seldom want to leave once they've been pampered by our thoughtful amenities and attention to detail throughout The Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lattice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing