We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Inn & Suites Montgomery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Inn & Suites Montgomery
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
nelson
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good size room, great rates, recently built, modern, clean. Rooms had a Fridge, microwave, wifi, but why no coffee maker and no rack or table to put your case on. TV's were older CRT sets. Pool is outdoor and was closed in October, although weather was still warm. Small Fitness centre open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    11
    12
    10
See reviews for
23
18
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here because the cost was cheap.
Pros- The location was great for me. I felt safe here. It was quiet. The air conditioning system in my room worked perfect. The housekeeping comes every day. The rooms and building was clean. The rooms were nice size with a small fridge and microwave. The bed was comfortable. I felt safe. And the best thing of all was the low price since I stayed for 8 days.

Cons- I killed 3 roaches in my room including one crawling on my bed while I was trying to sleep. I was DISGUSTED. The hallway and elevator smells like extremely awful body odor every single day. The staff didn't make me feel welcome. The shower curtain was extremely moldly and the worst part for me was how extremely early housekeeping came. They woke me up every morning. I did not pay for them to be my alarm clock.

Because of the price, I would stay here again. You get what you pay for. I hope your experience is better than mine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mm128340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

You need a car, as this hotel is outside of Downtown Montgomery, but it's nice and quiet at night, even though it's right off the highway. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, and the king room was huge, with plenty of space for luggage. It was very well kept, with incredibly friendly and helpful staff, a pool that was divine to take a dip in at 9pm after a hot day, and plenty of free parking. It was a great stop along our road trip throughout the South and only 10-15 minutes from Downtown Montgomery. Restaurants and shopping were only five minutes up the road, too. Our rate included a free continental breakfast, which wasn't mega flash, but I didn't walk away hungry! The staff also noticed that we were coming and immediately went to refresh the coffee and bread. The only downside was that I noticed the toilet seat had not been cleaned properly. Other than that, I was pleased with what we got for the room rate, and I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: There is elevator access, so any room seemed to be like a good one. Perhaps ask for a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbrooks1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great price with motel coupon. $41.99.
Large breakfast area with free continental breakfast.
The room was large with a table, big frig and microwave.
It is a fairly new hotel. Needs some touchup on some
items-caulking and door trim painted.
It is in a good location right on Hwy 231 beside Holiday Inn before
you get to Montgomery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeenFiftyStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful receptionist.The hotel is quite new and the rooms are well equipped. The distance to Downtown is not bad but you really need a sat nav to get there and back. I would give it 7 poss 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I agree with the other reviews, particularly "Could be really good..." It's lots of little things that add up to lessen the experience. TV's are old tubes without lineup, beds oversoft, breakfast is white bread, instant grits, coffee and captain crunch with little debbie cake. May fit the definition of someone else's breakfast, but not my typical. Michelle, the front desk employee, was great and very welcoming. Room was clean. Bathroom soaps/shampoo was the smallest I'd ever seen (but I bring my own). Shower head was a 99c model that did not create any pressure and water kind of just falls out of the head... Sometimes, it's the little things that add up to a great experience or just an OK one. This was definitely ok and a place to crash while on the road but that's about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel itself was fine. It is fairly new, but you can really tell it is being run as an economy hotel. They need to keep up with the maintenance. Small things like proper caulking in the bathroom and wrinkles in the carpets are noticeable. The bed was comfortable, tv was old style with no channel line-up available. The room itself was large. The breakfast was a joke. Some "little debbie" type honeybuns and a loaf of white bread for toast.
I will stay again because for the price, 38.99 with coupon, it was worth the money. If after another year or so the maintenance it not kept up properly then it may fall into a place not to stay, but for now it's good for the money.. Front desk girl was great...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery
Days Inn Montgomery
#44 of 71 in Montgomery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#37 of 71 in Montgomery
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Alabama Hotel
The Alabama Hotel
#39 of 71 in Montgomery
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Montgomery Airport South
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn & Suites Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn & Suites Montgomery

Property: Home Inn & Suites Montgomery
Address: 5709 Express Dr, US 231 Troy Hwy, Montgomery, AL 36116-2623
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn & Suites Montgomery 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Home Inn & Suites Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montgomery Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing