We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great southern food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derk's Filet & Vine

Derk's Filet & Vine
431 Cloverdale Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106-1801
334-262-8463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 433 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Wheatland, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While visiting Montgomery, I asked a local for a recommendation on lunch. She recommended Derk's (aka Filet and Vine). The food is served cafeteria style and you can see all the sides and other food available. I chose fried chicken (I got a HUGE piece), mashed potatoes with gravy, cheesy broccoli and cornbread. It was a generous portion and tasted very good. It hit the spot for my comfort food craving.

It was a very busy place for lunch which always says a lot about a local restaurant. Definitely worth checking out if you're visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go To Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is where the locals eat and it is more than worth the effort to find it. The food is great and plenty of it too. Not much for atmosphere as you dine among the coolers and racks of wine and specilaty beers. Can't beat the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food all the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is always great. The portions are always huge. If you need a casserole, don't waste time making it, they have them ready to go. The beer and wine portion of the store has a selection that can not be equaled in the city. Go out of your way to find this place!!! It's worth it!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDWblacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Market, Great Southern Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really like the ambience of this little neighborhood market, and the food is actually very good! I had the ribs and they were fantastic, as were the veggies. The market area has a superb selection of craft beer and wine. I really enjoyed my visit and this will be a regular stop for me when in Montgomery!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith35094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Deli and specialty restaurant & market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very popular place; eat in or outside. Moderate prices. Charming area very near the F. Scott & Zelda Fitzgerald Museum--go to both and make a morning or afternoon of it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derk's Filet & Vine also viewed

 

Been to Derk's Filet & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing