We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elitist Establishment”
Review of Sommer's Place

Sommer's Place
Ranked #99 of 459 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elitist Establishment”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I know it was probably at least 5 years ago since my husband and I visited Sommer's Place but our experience was so bad we will never step foot back in the place. Sommer's Place did not take reservations when we visited for my birthday. We knew we were in for a long wait but we knew it would be worth it. After waiting close to an hour, we were finally next up for a table for two. At that moment, two older men walked up to the front where they were taking names on their list. The hostess and a couple of other employees were falling all over themselves to greet the men. They were offered OUR TABLE! My husband and I looked at each other with our jaws hanging open. If it had not been my birthday, we would have just walked out right then. Well, we waited another 15 minutes and were finally seated. Our waitress was very friendly and sort of made up for the actions of the other employees. However, neither of us really enjoyed the meal because we were treated like we were less than the two men who waltzed right in and took our table. I thought maybe with time we would get over it, but nope, it still rates up there with our worst ever dining experiences. Sommer's Place, either take reservations or make EVERYONE wait their turn.

Helpful?
Thank matsmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The waitress dropped a bag that looked like cocaine!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The food was terrible! I don't think the fish was even tilapia. The waitress dropped a bag out of her apron which looked to be cocaine! Then she messed up our order twice. When I asked for the manager, needless to say she was very rude. I overheard the server gossiping and said my wife and I were just trying to get free food. Worst and never going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gussy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't miss”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wait staff is excellent, food is good, and prices are reasonable. Their best quality is that they are consistent. Always, always, ALWAYS!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Eat”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not only is the food WONDERFUL, they are a great bunch of people. Service is GREAT! Can't ask for anything better when eating out. Large variety on the menu, fast service, great smiles, I can't say enought about how Wonderful this place is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenibaum27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
353 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“We go for the fried crab claws”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Typical southern fare with great fried crab claws, and they are big and good. The macaroni and cheese is very good, along with the pot roast. Collards greens are weak. The prime rib sandwich is excellent. Best time and prices are 3-7 happy hours during the week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppes1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sommer's Place also viewed

 

Been to Sommer's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing