We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mmmmmmmm!!! Yes please.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Grill

City Grill
5251 Hampstead High Street, Montgomery, AL 36116
+1 334-244-0960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 433 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmm!!! Yes please.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

So glad our friends took us to City Grill the other night. It was a great experience from start to finish. Fantastic service, great mood/environment, and unbelievable food. I had the seafood pasta dish, and it was tremendous. The grilled shrimp were perfect. Salad dressing on my wife's salad was sooo good. My brownie cake with homemade peanut butter ice cream was delicious. In fact, even the table bread and butter were fantastic : )
It's only been one visit, but I'm sure City Grill will be in, at least, our top 3 favorite places to eat in Alabama.
Thanks again John & Terry , and we look forward to dining with you all very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great New Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

City Grill has move to the lovely area of Hampstead, a suburb of Montgomery. The ambiance is great at the new location and much roomier than their previous location. We took out of town company there for dinner and we were all impressed with the service and the food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank clintk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“City Grill's new location matches the food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

City Grill's new location in Hampstead is gorgeous. The perfect setting for the superb food and service you aways get when you dine there. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best in Montgomery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently moved to Montgomery from Houston and was discouraged at the lack of upscale dining options. Now that I have eaten at City Grill, I feel much better about my new hometown. The restaurant is located in a beautiful area with a water fountain nearby- they definitely have some serious ambiance- perfect for a romantic dinner. We ordered the calamari with jalapeno tartar sauce and the prosciutto, arugula and parmesan drizzled with olive oil and lemon for appetizers, a Caesar salad, grilled scamp and scallops over pureed parsnips with a pesto oil and a crustless salted caramel cheesecake for dessert. Everything we ate was amazing. I cannot wait to go back to this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexis7237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I had dinner here last night at the recommendation of a customer of mine. I grazed the appetizers and loved them. Scallops had a nice heat to them. I also had the fried eggplant with crabmeat topping and the quail. Next time I'll try the entrees that sounded great. The owners John and Terry along with my waitress were very friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Montgomery, AL
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing