We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Little Smelly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed here before and have enjoyed it. I was given a room on the second floor facing SAM's Club on the west side. They have large bright lights in the evening (all night). Finally found a clip to make sure that the curtains stayed together to block out the light. There was a large spot on the carpet in front of the room. The whole second floor had a smell I could not quite identify but it was not pleasant. Guess it needs a good scrubbing. Otherwise, the personnel continues to be quite helpful and cheerful. I especially enjoy the complimentary popcorn that is located in the foyer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonzdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip thru Montgomery and for sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced with smell, and stained carpets. It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations in every way, and your comments help us to achieve that goal. We have put a plan in place for treating carpets on a continued basis, and we are actually treating and cleaning carpets today in response to your feedback.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you the next time you are in Montgomery!

Sincerely,
Janet D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    123
    31
    15
    2
See reviews for
226
105
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Let me start by saying that we are big fans of Drury Inn. But not this one. We stayed here one night in February. We reserved a nonsmoking room and the staff was friendly. But upon entering our room we could immediately smell cigarette smoke. The smell was not strong initially and we attributed it to some previous guest breaking the rules. We decided to live with it. As night approached the heat kicked in, the room was filled with the smell of cigarettes, and it became clear that the odor permeated the whole ventilation system. I took a walk through the halls and found that the smell was strong throughout the hotel. I could not stand the smell and actually went out to our vehicle to spend the rest of the night. It was 30 degrees outside.
The next morning I found a sign on the door saying that smoking was not allowed anywhere in the building! Yet the space between the inner and outer doors was full of cigarette smoke.
Obviously the management of this hotel is either not willing or unable to enforce the no smoking policy, or to manage a decent ventilation system. I rank this nights stay as one of the 5 worst hotel stays of my life. Drury Inn should either fire the management or disown this property.

Room Tip: Do not say at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james123136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
197 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Second night traveling with 2 dogs. Again, good exercise area, not fenced off, but away from the road. Had dinner and drinks at hotel. Basic food, that they call snacks, but you can make a basic meal. Clean, quiet rooms. Again, they charge $10 extra for pets, but that's cheap compared to different hotels I looked at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Perfect stay. I've been impressed with each stay that I have had at the Drury chain, and the stop in Montgomery was no different. Missed the evening cocktails and food, but was able to get the breakfast in the morning. Better breakfast than most continentals.

Next time I'm in Montgomery, I'll have an easy choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kearnsisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the night at the Drury recently while in town for business. I have stayed there a few times before. It is nicely appointed with spacious rooms. As with all Drury Inns, breakfast and nightly drinks with light food is included.

The dining area is very homey with standard breakfast fare. At night 3 drinks are complimentary. What sets the Drury apart is the complimentary food from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm. On our visit they served baked potatoes, hot dogs, chicken wings, nachos with cheese, salad, pretzels, and potato chips. It is enough to make a meal! There is also popcorn in the lobby!

While we were enjoying our appetizers and drinks, the general manager, I think his name was Kirk, came by to check on us. He also came by the next morning at breakfast to check on us and take our plates away. He was very attentive and friendly.

Over all it is a good place to stay and is a bargain for what you get.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Hrpamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an amazing chain. They offer a complimentary dinner which consists of hot dogs type food but plenty of choices and in the morning they offer a breakfast that is complimentary and amazing. They also offer two (2) complimentary alcoholic drinks when you check in. The staff are extremely friendly, the rooms very clean, the hotel is also very clean and pet friendly. Yet there is no pet odour.

I will search out this chain whenever I stop!!

Room Tip: We were there when there were kids from a hockey tournament staying there and the hotel staff made s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The weather was lousy, we were tired and in a strange city. We had our little dog. We called a different national chain noted for being "Pet Friendly". Their national 800 number was less than helpful. We called the Drury. We had a room for us and the dog, in a matter of less than a minute. We got excellent directions and arrived at the hotel withing 15 minutes. Barbara, at the front desk was professional, welcoming, friendly and an absolute angel. Traveling would be so much nicer if there were more people like her working at hotel front desks. The room was well appointed. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was sumptuous. In short it was an excellent stay and my wife and I slept very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bureaucrat377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Montgomery - EastChase
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Address: 1124 Eastern Blvd, Montgomery, AL 36117-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
#4 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#6 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-85 at Exit 6 in the heart of Montgomery, Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery is just minutes from shopping at the Shoppes at EastChase and the Alabama Shakespeare Festival. The Montgomery Zoo, Montgomery Biscuits baseball, Rosa Parks Library & Museum, and the Alley Station are just a quick drive from the hotel. Guests enjoy free hot breakfast, free wifi and free 5:30 Kickback(R) as well as a variety of spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery Hotel Montgomery
Drury Inn And Suites Montgomery
Drury Inn Montgomery
Drury Inn Hotel Montgomery
Drury Montgomery
Montgomery Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing