We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes you just gotta laugh...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sometimes you just gotta laugh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Let me start by saying we LOVE Drury Hotels. Their slogan "the extras aren't extra" is one of the main reasons we choose Drury - the free snack supper and cocktails, breakfast buffet and late check-out are big pluses for a 3-star mid-price hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, beds are comfortable, and amenities usually more than adequate. My only quasi-complaint about any of those this visit was the skimpiness of toiletries provided - just soap and shampoo (no lotion or conditioner) - and a moldy water stain over the bathtub. A little Kilz would fix that. These minor issues aside, we've never had a bad experience at Drury. Until now.

I know Montgomery isn't the best place to find genuine southern hospitality, yet this Drury does much better than most. Customer service here is, generally speaking, an oxymoron. It's a rare individual in this town's hospitality industry who seems to truly appreciate his or her job and understands, respects and accommodates the expectations that job entails. It's hotel management's responsibility to make sure their staff DOES understand and appreciate the expectations required, and this Drury does that fairly well. Every staff member we encountered was courteous, professional and accommodating.

No, the problem here wasn't the hotel staff or the accommodations - it was the other guests!! There were several large groups staying - a girls' softball team and their families, what appeared to be a large family reunion, and then a sorority gathering of some sort. You'd think most of these fine folks had never stayed in a hotel! They swarmed like locusts over the complimentary snack supper and breakfast buffets as if those were their first and last meals. After they left the dining area looked like a hundred kindergartners had been turned loose - spilled food everywhere - on the buffet counters, on the floor and on every table. To complete the experience, a LARGE number of guests came down to breakfast wearing their PAJAMAS - adults and children alike. Good grief!

My husband and I were having some work done in our home and had planned a "relaxing weekend" away from the mess. Yet we couldn't swim in the hotel pool or use the fitness center because of all the unsupervised teens and t'weens, couldn't enjoy the complimentary evening kick-back or breakfast buffet because of the barbarian horde that overtook the dining area, and we endured all this with full knowledge that their group rates allowed the guests who ruined our weekend to do so for half the cost we paid! Awesome.

Best advice to potential guests? Before you book this Drury check to see if there are large groups staying. If so, stay away. Best advice to Drury? Maybe you could put a "Street Clothes Required" sign in the dining area, provide some crowd control during serving hours, and require parental supervision at the pool and fitness center. Just a thought.

Room Tip: No views. Hotel is on a heavily trafficked thoroughfare with a Sam's Club in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhartzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We appreciate hearing from our guests and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our property in Montgomery. Your comments have been shared with the proper departments in regard to your experience with some unruly guest and lack of action by our team members. It is our mission for guest to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay. Your comments will help us work to achieve these goals. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    123
    31
    15
    2
See reviews for
226
105
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here on a trip over spring break. The area was nice and the rooms were clean and spacious. The location was fine. I chose Drury because I have kids, and we enjoy the kick back snacks and drinks in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stopped here on our drive to Florida. While there we wanted to look at some of the Civil Rights history and the ladies at the desk were great. They gave us directions and a whole packet of information. When we came back later they even asked us how we liked it. The staff at the kickback and breakfast were also great. In addition to great staff, this hotel was nice and clean with a great evening meal which they call their kickback and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. My boys both told me I should rate this hotel well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999jaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My family stayed here just for one night on the drive back to KY from Florida. I wish I could have stayed longer. I had never stayed at a Drury Inn before, but I chose this because of their pet friendly policy and reasonable price. I was impressed the minute I walked in the door. The place looked much more like an upscale 4 or 5 star hotel than a mid level chain. It only got better, the two room suite was actually more like a small apartment, with a separate kitchen area with a table and chairs, a den area with a couch, recliner chalr, another plush chair, desk and a flat screen tv. The bedroom had 2 queen sized beds with another flat screen T.V and a separate closet, and the bathroom was large and all marble. This was the largest hotel room I ever stayed in and it was only $107.00 a night. (with no extra pet fee) In addition they provide a kick back dinner, 3 cocktails per adult in the party and a large sensational hot breakfast platter. I am hooked on Drury Inn chain now, and I look forward to visiting again. I would highly reccommend this hotel for its service, amenities, room quality. etc

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This Drury Inn was a great stop for our 2 day trip eastward from Texas. Family of 5 in a 2 queen suite with sleeper sofa was very comfortable. The free dinner and breakfast at Drury Inn was very convenient. This hotel also had a very large grassy area that our dogs loved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentreAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a fairly reasonable priced hotel to stay with our two young children on our drive to Seacrest Beach, FL. I booked this hotel online for $70! We were happy with the hotel overall. The rooms were nice sized with a microwave and small fridge (one issue was the fridge was not cold and I had milk for my 3 month old!! thankfully I had my own cooler). We didn't make it in time for the 5:30 snack hour but it seems like a great idea. The breakfast was ok and was included in the room price. I was impressed with the 37 in. flat screen t.v. and the updated bathroom. Overall, we'd stay here again for that price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarperQ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
406 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel overall is brand new - BUT, like most of the South hotels/motels, the housekeeping is less than good.
My room was clean except when I turned down the bed and found - not a little - but an entire section of bedding soiled with fresh/dried feces. Yes - not pretty.
The management didn't seem too concerned even when they came to see it and also admitted that they were very surprised how the maid just made the bed with this in it.
Moved to another room which was better - but bath was still not "Drury Clean". I wasn't offered a discount or refund at all - which should have been done.
I stay with Drury everywhere I travel to on business and cannot compliment the chain enough - they have NEVER been bad. But they need some serious housekeeping / management improvements here. I most likely will not stay at this Drury again.
It pains me to say that and it is all too bad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We appreciate hearing from our guests and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our Montgomery hotel. Your comments have been shared with hotel management to follow up with the appropriate departments. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay and your comments will help us work to achieve these goals. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Montgomery - EastChase
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Address: 1124 Eastern Blvd, Montgomery, AL 36117-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
#4 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#6 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-85 at Exit 6 in the heart of Montgomery, Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery is just minutes from shopping at the Shoppes at EastChase and the Alabama Shakespeare Festival. The Montgomery Zoo, Montgomery Biscuits baseball, Rosa Parks Library & Museum, and the Alley Station are just a quick drive from the hotel. Guests enjoy free hot breakfast, free wifi and free 5:30 Kickback(R) as well as a variety of spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery Hotel Montgomery
Drury Inn And Suites Montgomery
Drury Inn Montgomery
Drury Inn Hotel Montgomery
Drury Montgomery
Montgomery Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing