We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alabama's "Cheers"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railyard Brewing Company

Railyard Brewing Company
12 West Jefferson Street, Montgomery, AL
334-262-0800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 433 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alabama's "Cheers"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The bar where everyone knows your name, and they treat strangers like friends they just don't know yet. All ales brewed on site, and are DELICIOUS. Truly, this place is comfortable, not too busy, and a real feel of Montgomery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    46
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As a first time guest I really enjoyed the down home atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. For a starter I had the scotch egg and found it to be very tasty. After enjoying a glass of Railroad's Wee Heavy scotch ale I tried the Mema's burger. I tried both sweet potato fries and onion rings. Both were good but will opt for the onion rings next time. In summary: friendly neighborly service, tasty brews, good food plus Kip Taylor was performing at the restaurant = awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Little pricey but thought it was nice place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's in a great location downtown to begin with. I was on a business trip and my coworker is a beer brewer so we had to stop here. Since he knows beer and I just drink beer, I was relying on his conformaion and he gave it his thumbs up. They have a decent selection of homemade beers that are worthy of selling outside the restaraun (which they might do anyways). The atmosphere was nice, not too overwhelming sports bar but not fancy busniness type either. The food was pretty good for this style of bar/restaraunt. We orderd an appatizer and a sandwhich for dinner, both very satisfying. Only suggestion is they need better outside seating. They have picnic tables set up but you're not going to eat out there. All around, a good place to stop for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkells_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you absolutely must go here, just be forewarned that the food and beer are just OK. The service is lacking and it just, generally, feels poorly managed. It's a shame because the venue has potential for much more than is delivered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedfishDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mmmmm..... Fun Friday lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to the Railyard on a Friday afternoon. We weren't sure what to expect from a brew place in Montgomery... We're from Jersey. We walked in & were pleasantly suprised! The place is great! Beautiful high ceilings, with an industrial look. There was live music .... They were awesome. The brews were excellent.... And the food was surprisingly delicious! Our server was excellent... Attentive, knowledgeable and very friendly. We would definately return... & would often if we lived closer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jersey227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railyard Brewing Company also viewed

Montgomery, AL
Montgomery, AL
 

Been to Railyard Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing