We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chin Chin Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 437 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alabama
Level Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The 4 stars would have been 5 stars had I been reviewing "Chinese Restaurants." For Chinese food, I believe it is great! As a regular restaurant, it was "very good"---I've had better, but I enjoyed it..

Chinese cuisine quite easily gets "one" taste going---everything tastes the same. Not so with Chin Chin. Three of us ate together. I sampled everyone's food and each was outstanding in its own way. I had the Cashew Chicken. One friend had sweet and sour shrimp, and the other had pork or chicken lo mein. The shrimp didn't have any vegetables in it, I would have enjoyed that, but the shrimp was done in tempura batter---large pieces, cooked to perfection.

We ate at lunch, and the cost was $5.70 per meal. We were completely stuffed---the meal comes with soup. My hot and sour soup was wonderful---not as sour as usual. I tried their won ton soups, and I didn't think the broth was seasoned well enough---tasted more like water.

The food came out in record time, and the environment was welcoming. There's a lot to commend this place, although I honestly wouldn't rate it as the #1 restaurant in Montgomery; It's a nice place to get a lunch if you're on the east side of Montgomery. It's about a mile south of East Chase.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinMomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ga
Level Contributor
234 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best chinese I've had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I must say that the food here is amazing. The best Chinese I've eaten in a very long time. The location is not what you would expect (it's in a strip mall and easy to miss) but very good. I highly recommend you eat here when in Montgomery. The vegetable spring roll was GREAT! I had the sesame chicken which was super! Go here your mouth will thank you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inbevsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“A great break on a long car trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Found Chin Chin's on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The food was fresh and the service was great. The flowing water from large vases soothed our tired souls from a long trip. We returned to the road well nourished and rested.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cutebruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Flavor Explosion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually 'rave' over Chinese food...but here goes!
This restaurant is new to Montgomery and NOT going away.
My teens describe the interior as 'Techno Funky' modern? Ha
The menu selection is deep & all encompassing.
The quality of ingredients very high, & the TASTE...as I stated in the title 'Exploding'!
The Kung Poa Chicken is a gorgeous medley that will light your tongue up, yet deeply satisfy you.
The Sweet/Sour Chicken hits a perfect note & my kids rave over the tenderness of the Pepper Steak.
The rice is absolutely cooked to Perfection.
Need I say More?
It IS on the pricier end for this stream of takeout, but worth the splurge a few times per month.
I won't eat Chinese anywhere else in Montgomery now (;

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khmergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing delivery Chinese! Best I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

. This is by far the best takeout/ delivery Chinese restaurant i have ever had.
The food was all delicious and remarkably fresh i even had some really delicious sushi to boot!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMommaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chin Chin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing