We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“When at Capital...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Confederate Monument

Confederate Monument
Ranked #28 of 60 things to do in Montgomery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Commemorates more than 122,000 soldiers from Alabama who fought and died for the Confederacy during the Civil War.
Traveling
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“When at Capital...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It is right out the north door of the capital so there is no reason not to see it if you are at the capital anyway, I like the seaman statue the best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TeenaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saucier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Now that's a monument!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Confederate monument on the north end of the Alabama State Capitol grounds is one of the biggest I've ever seen. On our walk around the Capitol, I was "wowed" when I first saw it. I was most impressed that the cornerstone was laid by President Jefferson Davis himself! Each department of the Confederacy was represented in this impressive memorial.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice monument on the grounds of the Alabama state capitol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This large monument on the grounds of the Alabama State Capitol building in Montgomery. Honoring the confederate dead, the monument stretches high atop Goat Hill. In addition to this monument, there is a nice statue of Jefferson Davis the first president of the confederacy, the moon tree which is a large pine that was grown from seeds that were taken to the moon, a monument honoring Albert Patterson the Alabama Governor who was assassinated in Phenix City because of his battle against organized crime, a replica of the liberty bell, and flags and stones of each of the 50 states of the union.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank autigerrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Monument next to Capital building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This monument honors all the branches of service the fought in the civil war for the Confederacy. Monument was constructed in the 1800's and is a nice monument. It located next to the



Monument was constructed in the 1800's and honors all branchs of the confederacy that fought in the Civil War. There are other smaller statues and monuments in the area next to the monument.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank richardderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only for real history buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I love wandering through old cemeteries, so this Confederate Cemetery and Monument was right up my alley. There is an informative information center on site, but the grounds were where I spent my afternoon. As noted above, not for everyone, just us history buffs!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederate Monument also viewed

 

Been to Confederate Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing