We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal in Montgonery”
Review of Central

Central
Reserve with OpenTable
Central is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 459 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tallapoosa St
Description: Central, located at 129 Coosa Street in the heart of Montgomery's Downtown entertainment district, offers a multicultural twist on southern classics highlighting local and seasonal ingredients under the direction of Executive Chef Leonardo Maurelli, III. This locally owned gem serves wood-fired dishes in an 1890's warehouse space boasting exposed brick, flickering gas lanterns and a bustling open kitchen. Central also has three private event spaces ranging accommodating 10 - 200 people. Central serves lunch 5 days a week and dinner 6 nights a week.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good meal in Montgonery”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The folks at Central did a fine job and the food was good but I have to agree that Montgomery is limited when it come to high end restaurants. However Central is at the top of the list from what I have expereinced. Great atmosphere and good location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Here4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    100
    46
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
237 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good meal,not great”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

No offense, but Montgomery is not a foodie Mecca. I have eaten at Central several times.
Without question, it is a great looking place. Very hip vibe. It would fit in anywhere.
The food was ok. Some items better than others. Kind of hit and miss.
It's probably as good as it gets in Montgomery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCFFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing. Service was fantastic. We really enjoyed our dining experience. Best place to eat in Montgomery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville/Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous decor and great food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

While visiting Montgomery I ate here with my parents. It was nicely busy on a wed night but we could still get a table. We really liked the decor and atmosphere, we live in boston and felt it was one of the nicest laid our restaurants we had seen!! staff were very friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed the food, menu was very nice and varied, I highly recommend this restaurant. In a great downtown location, any of the other nice restaurants are outside of downtown area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ballydehob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
390 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good place, OK food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Atmosphere wise, this place is nice. Overly large space in a loft type atmosphere. Not a chain (that's a plus). Our server knew the menu and could describe and recommend the dishes professionally. The food runners where a bit less polished, but so what. Food quality wise, it was fine, but looked better than it tasted. My guess is they use average quality ingredients with superb preparation skills. I would certainly go back, but only on expense account. I felt the prices a bit high for the quality of the meal and the area. Two of ate dinner, plus dessert & nothing but ice tea to drink and the bill was north of $80 bucks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kegan36604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central also viewed

 

Been to Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing