We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Now one of our favorite places to eat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya Lao & Thai Cuisine

Green Papaya Lao & Thai Cuisine
Ranked #38 of 441 Restaurants in Montgomery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Now one of our favorite places to eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Actually we went here with friends from out of town who love 'real' thai food. It was our first time to eat here. We (all 4) loved the food !!, our friends were very impressed with the flavor and authenticity of the dishes, it was well prepared and very delicious !!! The atmosphere is nice and calm, the sercive (Friday evening) was excellent, very friendly, attentive and fast. We barely finished our appetizers when the main dishes were already brought to our table. The good reviews are accurate, and we will be back and have been telling others about this great place to enjoy well prepared and flavorful food. :(( it is closed on Sundays and after 8:30 pm during the week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juergnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food in an unexpected place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find the Green Papaya offering such very good dinners. It is located in a shopping plaza, out of the mainstream, but the food was well prepared, served promptly and delicious. The staff was very hospitable and more than met our needs. The atmosphere was functional.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jande36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Serious Lao/Thai food in an unlikely spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was the best takeout our group of East Coast food snobs managed to find over the course of a month in Montgomery. Generous portions, fresh flavors, spice levels adjustable from mild to seriously hot, numerous vegetarian options. My favorite dish was the pad kee maow (drunken noodles). The eat-in experience was also very nice, including attentive service and several inexpensive beer options, but I would give it four stars because of not really caring for loud college football or MLB with my Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank rue_papillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tucked out of the way Thai restaurant has great food and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is my favorite Thai restaurant. REALLY good food - no heavy sauces so you can taste the veggies and peanut sauce. If you really like THAI food - not Americanized too much - this is the place.
Friendly service in a small dining area, but the decor lets you know the culture! (Altho it is not overwhelming!)
Portions are good and so are the prices.
When I am in Montgomery and have a choice - this is my favorite dinner choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 423TPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Thai in all of Montgomery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Don't go to Lek's. Don't go to Ala Thai. Go to Green Papaya! They're the best Asian restaurant in town! I eat there quite frequently and they are always consistent and completely delicious always!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filipinafoodie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya Lao & Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Green Papaya Lao & Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing