We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb tour”

Rosa Parks Library and Museum
Ranked #4 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tribute to the "Mother of the Civil Rights Movement" honors Rosa Parks, the African-American woman who, in 1955, sparked the civil rights movement by refusing to give her bus seat to a white man. The museum helps visitors relive this tumultuous era with a video, artifacts, historical documents, a lifesize statue of Rosa Parks and a replica of the bus in which she sat that day.
NYC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“superb tour”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is actually one of the most engaging museums/sites I saw in Montgomery.

The museum tour is lead by a guide, it's not a wander on your own type thing. our guide was really engaging and well-informed.

It starts with a video, then you go through the timeline of the bus boycott, from Parks' arrest to the integration of the buses. I learned a lot (the lawsuit didn't involve Mrs. Parks) and was touched by the courage and determination of the movement.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustymambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    91
    26
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An up close and personal experience.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was revealing to see the actual footage of the incident that Rosa Parks endured. There was a replica of the bus and a life sized video inside the bus showing the incident. It felt as though I was standing just outside the bus as the incident was taking place. This activity would be a great educational experience for all ages.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SMM954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Troy Univerity houses a small but very well done museum in town. We were impressed and learned a lot. Especially the bus as a medium to play the historic event was riveting. Be careful if you google Rosa Parks Museum and the first site tells you it is closed Saturday. NOT true! The staff there said they tried invain to have it changed. Troy University has the correct link.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Margit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place. It teaches some much history.. Great place to visit out tour guide was very informative, you could tell she really loved her job .

Helpful?
Thank riceas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible- please read”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are great admirers of Rosa Parks. We planned a big holiday trip to travel around Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana. We planned to visit the Rosa Parks museum on Dec 31, a tuesday. We checked the web site multiple times for directions and to make sure it would be opened. As recent as just a few days before our visit the web site stated that it would be closed Christmas, Thanksgiving, and New Year. We were very pleased that our visit for Dec 31 would fit. We even planned our travel around this, altered our flight out, and had our 12 year old read up on Rosa Parks. We arrived only to see a small sign in the door that said they would be closed New Years Eve day Dec 31.

Please get that you altered our entire trip from California because your web site was poorly maintained, and our son was greatly disappointed. Its really too bad.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeC291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosa Parks Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing