We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice $ Downtown Option”

Baumhower's Downtown
Ranked #177 of 458 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, American, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Legendary Food, Legendary Fun! We offer your favorite Southern classics with a twist! From beefy burgers to giant steaks. Baumhower's takes the time to serve everything as fresh as possible with true Southern hospitality! We proudly serve Alabama Gulf Seafood and fresh chicken, steaks, burgers and produce!
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice $ Downtown Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My coworkers and I went to Baumhower's Downtown for lunch on 12/18/12. We actually went in the wrong door. We did not go into the RSA building first, but entered through a secondary door that from the outside, looked like the entry. Anyway, we were inside for just a few seconds and the manager spotted us and directed us to the hostess stand where we were greeted and seated nearby. One of the people in our party is allergic to shell fish and asked about the fried chicken. The manager came over and spoke to us about use and disposal of grease and calmed any apprehension about getting chicken that had been fried with shell fish. He spoke to us a couple more times during our meal and said good-bye to us when we were leaving. The restaurant was clean, nicely decorated, a little noisy for lunch, but not too bad. There was plenty of wait staff and our food arrived in a timely manner. This was our FIRST visit to this Baumhower's, but will not be our last.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great restaurant in one of the newer office building in downtown Montgomery. You can enjoy a meal outside on a nice warm day or eat inside with the steady traffic coming and going. Seems to always have large groups every time I go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marjorieb225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great happy hour specials! If you work in downtown, I recommend this place for happy hour for sure. I've been a part of a couple of larger groups that go here for lunch - seemed the service was less stellar the larger the group was. BUT, I've always had a great happy hour experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nothing Happy about this "happy hour"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ran out of advertised beers ..when happy hour began, did not even bother to let us know substituted one choice, gave some skunky half glass to another person. Asked manager..basically can't afford to offer anything else..too expensive he said. Well we left never to return. Go to DreamLand instead

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great downtown lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are spending the day in downtown Montgomery, this location will serve you well. Just one block from the State Capitol, across the street from the back door to the Archives & White House of Confederacy, this Baumhowers offers great food at reasonable prices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baumhower's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Baumhower's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing