We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Wingate standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Montgomery
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here on a road trip after staying at a great Wingate in Atlanta. It was like they aren't even part of the same company!! This hotel looks like a (very poorly) refurbished Days Inn. The hallways have peeling wallpaper, the carpet in the rooms was stained, the shower was moldy. The breakfast was awful- few choices, and items ran out. Only positive was the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amandatravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Montgomery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 747 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

First let me say that we had a charge on our card we used at check-in 3 weeks ago and have yet to get that charge reversed. The receipt I was given at check out had no charges listed on it. I have called and left messages and have not gotten a return call!

The our room was not clean - hair was in the sick upon arrival like it had not been cleaned properly after the last guests checked out. We also found out the hair dryer did not work late at night and the desk clerk told me there was nothing she could do to help as they did not have any extras and all of the rooms were full.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and unfortunately we booked through Hotwire so we were out of luck on our complaints as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I was charged twice for my stay. Paid in cash then they charged my credit card the next day. I have called numberous times (seven to be exact) and the manager Mike Patel nor his wife Rita Patel will talk to me or return my calls! My money still has not been return on my card. I even called the 1-800 number and was told that the hotel was privately owned, they even acted like they did not care.
When I checked in the girl at the desk was extremely rude. I asked her to make sure that they knew I was paying in cash when I checked out, even asked her to write it on the card. She said she did, and for me not to worry about it. When I checked out the girl was rude (different girl) she was only worried about her food someone had just brought to her from Panera Bread. I paid in cash, asked her about my card she said it was not charged have a good day.
What should you expect when they have no show/no call manager/owners!
Will NEVER stay here again!

Room Tip: Unless you like paying double stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneMorris_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Fair at best - would be great if had better staff.
Stayed here last week - no meat on bfast bar - was told "sorry we ran out". It was 7:30am.
Stayed here this week - no cream for coffee - was told "sorry we ran out". It was 7:30am.

Wonder if they have ever heard about grocery stores? There's one across street. Wonder why they couldn't have sent somebody across street to it? Bottom line - about 3 people stayed here both nights I was here - and they operate on a bear minimum.

Two rooms - two weeks - both smelled musty.
Hair on floor of bathroom.

The good - room on back has nice view of small lake. Bed is incredible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatsoutawholelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here when we came to see Frankie Beverly and Maze in concert.....The reservations were made third party, so we paid in advance. Great price for great view, room had a very nice view, we had a corner room and it was quiet so it was great...the room was clean, we had little interaction with the staff, but check-in was pleasant. The breakfast was continental including bacon and eggs.

The only negative thing I can say is the address comes up incorrectly in the GPS and that can be a pain after you've traveled many hours. The hotel is on the East blvd frontage road not the main highway...."off the beaten path" behind Lowe's...hope this helps the next person....Have fun...we did.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_DEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed at the Wingate as all of the downtown hotels were full. A very solid overnight stay - with an incredible bed. The hotel is about ten minutes outside of the downtown, but plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. No frills, but serves complimentary breakfast, coffee. Again - amazing foam bed, but old fashioned heat / cooling unit can be a bit loud. For the price, was a very comfortable stay for a quick overnight business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McAliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The reservation staff was extremely helpful and professional, since we were a very late arrival. The Desk Clerk was courteous and pleasant. The room was very clean and the complimentary Breakfast was excellent. Overall, this property was outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Montgomery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Montgomery

Address: 2060 Eastern Blvd, Montgomery, AL 36117-1616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: $102 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Montgomery 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Montgomery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate Hotel Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing