We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commendation for an employee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Inn and Suites
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Commendation for an employee”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I would like to commend Donna Pickett, an employee of the Carmichael Road La Quinta Inn and Suites in Montgomery, Al. She was our breakfast attendant and graciously handled several mishaps that could have made anyone with less poise become very upset. First, one of the guests spilled a bowl of grits on the counter, down the side of the cabinets and onto the carpet. Then another guest heated a boiled egg in the microwave and the egg exploded all over the inside of the microwave. A third guest pulled the handle of the waffle batter off into his hand and the waffle batter poured out like a small river. All of this occurred in a 15 minute period. Ms. Pickett remained calm, reassured the guests and cleaned up the messes. She never got angry or upset and we diners continued to enjoy the hospitality of La Quinta.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with a large living room and 2 bathrooms. Our 2 dogs were quite happy here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    67
    64
    47
    55
See reviews for
104
60
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very small rooms. We stayed here on our way to the beach. Not the best area of town, I would not go back to this hotel again due to the area and hotel. The pools was shut down in June. Breakfast was ok the room was very tight to move around when there were several people. The best thing about the hotel is the price. We stay at LaQuinta a lot this was a very cheap looking hotel to be name LaQuinta. There was another hotel next door that was also a LaQuinta it looked really bad from the outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbykentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location for what we needed, right off of the interstate. Room was clean, staff were very helpful. Always pet friendly, very important to us. Older Hotel, but seemed they were trying to upgrade. Would recommend to people who are traveling, good price

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brock54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Staff was great the hotel was clean,just slept there did not eat breakfast do not like waffles but they have them and other items on the breakfast needed more protein, however the breakfast was included in the rate so that was ok. The outside was being worked on other then that it was fine. They are definitely customer service no business center but they let us use the GM computer to print so things we needed prints. Value good. I would stay again if traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This could be confusing there are 2 laquintas next to each other one is La Quinta the Other is La Quinta Inns and Suites. I stay at the other one last month so I tried this one this month. I think this one is newer. The prices change last month the other was cheaper, this month this one was cheaper. It was clean but this one also did not have a good breakfast. Only waffles, ceral and some fruits, but overall it was nice. Floors were clean in the rooms. I gues that's because this was a indoor room hotel and the other was outdoor meaning you walk from the outside into your room where this hotel you walk to your room inside the hotel. Would stay again and probably will. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henry2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel room was clean except for the bathtub. Apparently someone forgot to clean it--hair and soap scum in abundance! Strange, since the breakfast room was scrupulously clean, and everything was carefully sealed in plastic (yawn). Since it was late, we didn't ask to change rooms--Heloise says that you should always check the tub, toilet, air conditioner, etc. to be sure everything is in working order before you settle in. From now on, we will!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffyAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#58 of 72 in Montgomery
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montgomery Inn & Suites
Montgomery Inn & Suites
#28 of 72 in Montgomery
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#43 of 72 in Montgomery
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Montgomery / Carmichael Rd.
0.6 mi away
The Alabama Hotel
The Alabama Hotel
#38 of 72 in Montgomery
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn and Suites

Property: Magnolia Inn and Suites
Address: 5225 Carmichael Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106-2904 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Montgomery Carmichael Road)
Location: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnolia Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Montgomery Carmichael Road Hotel Montgomery
La Quinta Montgomery
Montgomery La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing